Articles in Turkey ( 2,302 )

2,302 Articles of interest in Turkey

Click on them to get its location and coordinates
  • Yeşil Mosque

    Yeşil Mosque (Turkish: Yeşil Cami, "Green Mosque"), also known as Mosque of Mehmed I, is a part of the larger complex (a külliye) located on the east side of Bursa, Turkey, the former capital of the Ottoman Turks before they captured Constantinople …

  • Tushpa

    Tushpa (Armenian: Տոսպ Tosp, Assyrian: Turuspa, Turkish: Tuşpa) was the 9th-century BC capital of Urartu, later becoming known as Van which is derived from Biaina the native name of Urartu.

  • Suruç

    Suruç (Kurdish: Pîrsûs) is a rural district of Şanlıurfa Province of Turkey, on a plain near the Syrian border 46 km south-west of the city of Urfa.

  • Mudanya

    Mudanya (Mudania, Greek: τα Μουδανιά [Pl.]) (the site of ancient Apamea Myrlea), is a town and district of Bursa Province in the Marmara region of Turkey. It is located on the Gulf of Gemlik, part of the southern coast of the Sea of Marmara. As of 1…

  • Lüleburgaz

    Lüleburgaz, (Turkish: [lyˈlebuɾɡaz]; Bulgarian: Люлебургас, Lyuleburgas, or Беркулен, Berkulen; Greek: Αρκαδιούπολις/Αρκαδιούπολη, Arkadioupoli) is a town and district of Kırklareli Province in the Marmara region of Turkey.

  • Lysimachia (Thrace)

    Lysimachia (Greek: Λυσιμάχια or Λυσιμάχεια) was an important Hellenistic Greek town on the north-western extremity of the Thracian Chersonese (the modern Gallipoli peninsula) in the neck where the peninsula joins the mainland in what is now the Euro…

  • Doğan Holding

    Doğan Holding is one of the top industrial conglomerates in Turkey operating in the energy, media, industry, trade, insurance and tourism industries.

  • Şırnak

    Şırnak (Kurdish: Şirnex or Şirnex) is a Turkish town in southeastern Turkey. It is the capital of Şırnak Province, a new province that split from the Hakkari province.

  • Themiscyra (Pontus)

    Themiscyra, less commonly Themiskyra (Greek: Θεμίσκυρα), was an ancient Greek town on the Themiscyra plain a little distance from the coast and near the mouth of the Thermodon (modern Terme River).

  • Sason

    Sason (Armenian: Սասուն Sasun; Kurdish: Qabilcewz from Arabic: قبل جوز‎; formerly known as Sasun or Sassoun) is a district in the Batman Province of Turkey.

  • Osmaniye

    Osmaniye (Turkish: [osmɑŋiye];) is a nice city in the Çukurova region of Turkey, the capital of Osmaniye Province. Area 3,767 km². Population of Osmaniye city: 219,339. Osmaniye Province: 512,804 (2014).

  • Mor Gabriel Monastery

    Dayro d-Mor Gabriel (Classical Syriac: ܕܝܪܐ ܕܡܪܝ ܓܒܪܐܝܠ; The Monastery of St. Gabriel), also known as Deyrulumur, is the oldest surviving Syriac Orthodox monastery in the world. It is located on the Tur Abdin plateau near Midyat in the Mardin Provin…

  • Merzifon

    Merzifon (Old Persian: Merzban; Ancient Greek: Μυρσυφων Mersyphòn) is a town and district in Amasya Province in the central Black Sea region of Turkey. It covers an area of 970 square kilometres (370 sq mi), and the population (2010) is 69,237 of wh…

  • Kaçkar Mountains

    Kaçkar Mountains (Turkish: Kaçkar Dağları; Armenian: Խաչքար Լեռները) or simply Kaçkars (Turkish: Kaçkarlar) are a mountain range that rises above the Black Sea coast in eastern Turkey.

  • Karatepe

    Karatepe (Turkish for "Black Hill"; Hittite: Azatiwataya) is a late Hittite fortress and open-air museum in Osmaniye Province in southern Turkey lying at a distance of about 23 km from the district center of Kadirli. It is sited in the Taurus Mounta…

  • Heybeliada

    Heybeliada or Heybeli Ada (Greek: Χάλκη, Halki) is the second largest of the Prince Islands in the Sea of Marmara, near Istanbul.

  • Hatay Airport

    Hatay Airport (IATA: HTY, ICAO: LTDA) (Turkish: Hatay Havalimanı) is an international airport in Hatay Province, Turkey serving the cities of Antakya (25 km by road) and Iskenderun (45 km).

  • Forum of Theodosius

    The Forum of Theodosius (Greek: φόρος Θεοδοσίου, today Beyazıt Square) was an area in Constantinople. It was originally built by Constantine I and named the Forum Tauri ("Forum of the Bull").

  • Cumalıkızık

    Cumalıkızık is a village in the Yıldırım district of Bursa Province, located 10 kilometers east of the city of Bursa, at the foot of Mount Uludağ. Its history goes back to the Ottoman Empire's foundation period. The village is now included within th…

  • Council of Hieria

    The iconoclast Council of Hieria was a Christian council of 754 which viewed itself as ecumenical, but was later rejected by the Eastern Orthodox and Roman Catholic Churches. It was summoned by the Byzantine Emperor Constantine V in 754 in the palac…

  • Birecik

    Birecik (Greek and Latin: Birtha, Βίρθα; Arabic: al-Bīrah البيرة‎; Kurdish: Bêrecûg, Ottoman Turkish: بيره جك), also formerly known as Bir and during the Crusades as Bile, is a town and district of Şanlıurfa Province of Turkey, on the River Euphrate…

  • Bayezid II Mosque

    The Bayezid II Mosque (Turkish: Beyazıt Camii, Bayezid Camii) is an Ottoman imperial mosque located in the Beyazıt Square area of Istanbul, Turkey, near the ruins of the Forum of Theodosius of ancient Constantinople.

  • Battle of Krithia Vineyard

    The Battle of Krithia Vineyard (6–13 August 1915) was fought during the Gallipoli Campaign during the First World War. It was originally intended as a minor British action at Helles on the Gallipoli peninsula to divert attention from the imminent la…

  • Ankara Arena

    Ankara Arena (Turkish: Ankara Spor Salonu), is an indoor sporting arena that is located in Ankara, Turkey that opened in April 2010. The seating capacity of the arena is 10,400 spectators.

  • Alsancak

    Alsancak is a centrally situated large quarter (or a zone; semt in Turkish) in İzmir, Turkey, within the boundaries of the metropolitan district of Konak, the historic center of the city.

  • Ahlat

    Ahlat (Armenian: Խլաթ, Khlat; Ottoman Turkish: اخلاط), is a historic town and district in Turkey's Bitlis Province in Eastern Anatolia Region. From 1929-1936, it had been included as a district of Van Province. The town of Ahlat is situated on the n…

  • İzmir Atatürk Stadium

    İzmir Atatürk Stadium (Turkish: İzmir Atatürk Stadyumu) is a multi-purpose stadium in İzmir, Turkey. It is currently used mostly for football matches. The stadium holds 51,295 people. It was built in 1964, and most recently refurbished in 2005. İzmi…

  • Ümraniye

    Ümraniye (pronounced [ymˈɾaːnije]) is a very large working class district of Istanbul, Turkey, with a population of over 650,000. It became district in 1987 by secession from Üsküdar. Also; Ömerli, Koçullu, Sırapınar and Hüseyinli villages were sepa…

  • Zilan massacre

    The Zilan massacre (Turkish: Zilan Katliamı or Zilan Deresi Katliamı, etc.), refers to the massacre of thousands of Kurdish residents in the Zilan Valley of Turkey by 12/13 July 1930, during the Ararat rebellion, in which 800–1500 armed men particip…

  • Tlos

    Tlos is an ancient ruined Lycian hilltop citadel near the resort town of Kalkan in the Antalya Province of southern Turkey, some 4 kilometres northwest of Saklikent Gorge.

  • Sakıp Sabancı Museum

    The Sabancı University Sakıp Sabancı Museum (Turkish: Sakıp Sabancı Müzesi) is a private fine arts museum in Istanbul, Turkey, dedicated to calligraphic art, religious and state documents, as well as paintings of the Ottoman era.