Articles in Turkey ( 2,302 )

2,302 Articles of interest in Turkey

Click on them to get its location and coordinates
  • Second Council of Ephesus

    The Second Council of Ephesus (commonly known as the Robber Council of Ephesus) was a Christological church synod in 449 AD convoked by Emperor Theodosius II under the presidency of Pope Dioscorus I of Alexandria. It was intended to be an Ecumenical…

  • Salqin

    Salqin (Arabic: سلقين‎) is a town in Syria, administratively part of Idlib Governorate. Nearby localities include Kafr Takharim to the southeast, Abu Talha to the south, Dalbiyah to the southwest, al-Alani to the northwest and Isqat to the northeast…

  • Sagalassos

    Sagalassos (Greek: Σαγαλασσός) is an archaeological site in southwestern Turkey, about 100 km north of Antalya (ancient Attaleia), and 30 km from Burdur and Isparta. The ancient ruins of Sagalassos are 7 km from Ağlasun (as well as being its namesak…

  • Karabük Province

    Karabük Province (Turkish: Karabük ili ) is a landlocked province in the northern part of Anatolia (northern central Turkey), located about 200 km (124 mi) north of Ankara, 115 km (71 mi) away from Zonguldak and 113 km (70 mi) away from Kastamonu.

  • Hopa

    Hopa (Georgian: ხოფა, ხუფათი) is a city and district of Artvin Province in northeast Turkey.

  • Edirne Synagogue

    Edirne Synagogue, aka the Grand Synagogue of Edirne (Hebrew: Kal Kadosh ha Gadol‎, Turkish: Edirne Büyük Sinagogu) is a 2015-restored historic Sephardi synagogue located in Maarif Street of Edirne, Turkey.

  • Blachernae

    Blachernae (Greek: Βλαχέρναι) was a suburb in the northwestern section of Constantinople, the capital city of the Byzantine Empire. It is the site of a water source and a number of prominent churches were built there, most notably the great Church o…

  • Bilecik Province

    Bilecik Province (Turkish: Bilecik ili) is a province in midwest Turkey, neighboring Bursa to the west, Kocaeli and Sakarya to the north, Bolu to the east, Eskişehir to the southeast and Kütahya to the south, spanning an area of 4,307 km².

  • Bayburt Province

    Bayburt Province (Turkish: Bayburt ili) is a province in the north-east of Turkey. Population of the province is 74,412 and total area is 3,652 km².

  • Aksaray, Istanbul

    Aksaray (literally "White Palace" in Turkish) is a neighborhood in Istanbul, Turkey. Aksaray is a part of the district of Fatih. It is so named because it was founded by migrants from Aksaray in central Turkey, deported there by Mehmet II to repopul…

  • Şile

    Şile is a small town on the Black Sea, 70 km from the city of Istanbul, Turkey. Şile is a municipality and is the center of the eponym district of Istanbul. According to the 2007 census, the population of the district was 25,169, of which 9,831 live…

  • Yalova Province

    Yalova Province (Turkish: Yalova ili) is a province in northwestern Turkey, on the eastern coast of the Sea of Marmara. Its adjacent provinces are Bursa to the south and Kocaeli to the east. The provincial capital is the city of Yalova.

  • Turkish Airlines Flight 278

    Turkish Airlines Flight 278, operated by a Boeing 737-4Y0 registered TC-JES and named Mersin, was a domestic scheduled flight from Ankara Esenboğa Airport to Van Ferit Melen Airport in eastern Turkey that crashed on 29 December 1994 during its final…

  • State Art and Sculpture Museum

    The State Art and Sculpture Museum (Turkish: Resim ve Heykel Müzesi) is a museum dedicated to fine arts and sculpture in Ankara, Turkey. It was designed in 1927 by architect Arif Hikmet Koyunoğlu and built between 1927 and 1930 as the Türkocağı Buil…

  • Pessinus

    Pessinus (Greek: Πεσσινούς or Πισσινούς) was a city in Asia Minor, a geographical area corresponding today to modern Turkey on the upper course of the river Sangarios (Sakarya River), from which the mythological King Midas (738-696 BC?) is said to h…

  • Pendik

    Pendik is a district of Istanbul, Turkey on the Asian side between Kartal and Tuzla, on the Marmara Sea. Population is approx.

  • Pamukkale University

    Pamukkale University (PAU), founded in 1992 in Denizli in the Denizli Province of Turkey, is a young institution which has been developing rapidly with 45,000 students and 1400 academicians.

  • Kırşehir Province

    Kırşehir Province (Turkish: Kırşehir ili) is located in central Turkey, forming part of the central Anatolian region. It stands on the North Anatolian Fault, and is currently in an earthquake warning zone. The average elevation is approximately 985 …

  • Hakkâri

    Hakkâri (Kurdish: Colemêrg, Syriac: ܗܟܐܪܝ), is a city and the capital of the Hakkâri Province of Turkey. The name Hakkâri is derived from the Syriac word, Akkare, meaning farmers.

  • Cyme (Aeolis)

    Cyme (modern Nemrut) was an Aeolian city in Aeolis (Asia Minor) close to the kingdom of Lydia. The Aeolians regarded Cyme as the largest and most important of their twelve cities, which were located on the coastline of Asia Minor (modern-day Turkey)…

  • Zeyrek Mosque

    Zeyrek Mosque (full name in Turkish: Molla Zeyrek Camii), is a mosque in Istanbul, made of two former Eastern Orthodox churches and a chapel.

  • Trabzon Airport

    Trabzon Airport (IATA: TZX, ICAO: LTCG) is an airport near the city of Trabzon in the eastern Black Sea region of Turkey. The airport opened in 1957. In 2009, it served 1,596,905 passengers, of which mostly (%95) were on domestic routes.

  • Siirt

    Siirt (Arabic: سِعِرْدSiʿred, Armenian: Սղերդ Sġerd, Kurdish: Sêrt, Syriac: ܣܥܪܬ siʿreth, Ottoman Turkish: سعرد) is a city in southeastern Turkey and the seat of Siirt Province.

  • Malazgirt

    Malazgirt (also Malâzgird; Armenian: Մանազկերտ, Manazkert; traditional English: Manzikert, Kurdish: Milazgird) is a town in Muş Province in eastern Turkey, with a population of 23,697 (year 2000).

  • Kırıkkale Province

    Kırıkkale Province (Turkish: Kırıkkale ili) is a province of Turkey. It is located on the crossroads of major highways east of Ankara leading east to the Black Sea region. With its rapid population growth it has become an industrial center.

  • Hüseyin Avni Aker Stadium

    Hüseyin Avni Aker Stadium (Turkish: Hüseyin Avni Aker Stadyumu) is the home ground of the Turkish football (soccer) club Trabzonspor. The stadium was built in 1951 with a capacity of 2,500 seats. After several renovations, the capacity was increased…

  • Atakule

    Atakule is a 125m (410 feet) high communications and observation tower located in the Çankaya district of central Ankara, Turkey, and is one of the primary landmarks of the city. As the district of Çankaya is itself on a hill, the tower can be spott…

  • 2006 Turkish Grand Prix

    The 2006 Turkish Grand Prix was a Formula One motor race, held on 27 August 2006. The race, which was the fourteenth round of the 2006 Formula One season, and the second Turkish Grand Prix, was held at Istanbul Park in Istanbul, Turkey. It marked th…

  • İzmir Institute of Technology

    İzmir Institute of Technology (Turkish: İzmir Yüksek Teknoloji Enstitüsü, commonly referred to as İYTE) is a public research university in İzmir, Turkey. İYTE maintains a strong emphasis on the natural sciences and engineering. It is the only Turkis…

  • Yoros Castle

    Yoros Castle (Turkish: Yoros kalesi) is a ruined castle at the confluence of the Bosphorus and the Black Sea, to the north of Joshua's Hill, in Istanbul, Turkey.