Articles in Turkey ( 2,302 )

2,302 Articles of interest in Turkey

Click on them to get its location and coordinates
  • Bingöl Province

    Bingöl Province (Turkish: Bingöl ili, Kurdish: Parêzgeha Bîngol) is a province of Turkey in Eastern Anatolia. The province was created in 1946 out of parts of Elazığ and Erzincan. The new province was known as Çapakçur Province until 1950. Its neigh…

  • Adıyaman Province

    Adıyaman Province (Turkish: Adıyaman ili is a province) in south-central Turkey. The province was created in 1954 out of part of Malatya Province. Area 7,606.16 km². Population 590,935 (2010 est), up from 513,131 in 1990. The capital is Adıyaman. Th…

  • Ürgüp

    Ürgüp (Greek: Προκόπιο / Prokópio or Cappadocian Greek: Προκόπι / Prokópi, Ottoman Turkish: Burgut Kalesi) is a town and district of Nevşehir Province in the Central Anatolia region of Turkey. Located in the historical region of Cappadocia, and near…

  • Çorum Province

    Çorum (Turkish: Çorum İli) is a province in the Black Sea Region of Turkey, but lying inland and having more characteristics of Central Anatolia than the Black Sea coast.

  • Çankaya, Ankara

    Çankaya is the central metropolitan district of the city of Ankara, the capital of Turkey, and an administrative district of Ankara Province. According to the 2000 census, the population of the urban center is 797,109 (2010 est.) which swells up to …

  • Yeşilköy

    Yeşilköy (Turkish pronunciation: [jeˈʃilcøj]; prior to 1926, San Stefano or Santo Stefano from the Greek: Άγιος Στέφανος pronounced Ayos Stefanos, rendered in Turkish as Ayastefanos, Bulgarian: Сан Стефано) is a neighbourhood (Turkish: mahalle) in t…

  • Sinan Erdem Dome

    The Sinan Erdem Dome (Turkish: Sinan Erdem Spor Salonu), formerly known as the Ataköy Dome, is a multi-purpose indoor arena that is located on the European side of Istanbul, Turkey.

  • Second Battle of Krithia

    The Second Battle of Krithia continued the Allies' attempts to advance on the Helles battlefield during the Battle of Gallipoli of the First World War. The village of Krithia and neighbouring hill of Achi Baba had to be captured in order for the Bri…

  • Pera Palace Hotel

    The Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah (Turkish: Pera Palas Oteli) is a historic special category hotel and museum hotel located in the Beyoğlu (Pera) district in Istanbul, Turkey. It was built in 1892 for the purpose of hosting the passengers of the Orien…

  • Ordu Province

    Ordu Province (Turkish: Ordu ili) is a province of Turkey, located on the Black Sea coast. Its adjacent provinces are Samsun to the northwest, Tokat to the southwest, Sivas to the south, and Giresun to the east.

  • Kilis

    Kilis is a city in south-central Turkey near the border with Syria and administrative centre of Kilis Province.

  • Kadir Has Stadium

    Kadir Has Stadium (Turkish: Kadir Has Stadyumu), is a multi-purpose stadium in Kayseri, Turkey. It is part of complex of sports venues that are on the outskirts of the city, as part of the Atatürk Sports Complex.

  • Erzincan Province

    Erzincan Province (Turkish: Erzincan ili) is a province in the eastern region of Anatolia, Turkey, and home to Erzincan, a city which was destroyed and rebuilt after an earthquake of magnitude 7.9 on December 27, 1939. The population was 224,949 in …

  • Düzce Province

    Düzce Province (Turkish: Düzce ili) is a province in northwestern Turkey. It is on the coastline of the Black Sea and is traversed by the main highway between Istanbul and Ankara. The main town is Düzce.

  • Bursa Atatürk Stadium

    Bursa Atatürk Stadium (Turkish: Bursa Atatürk Stadyumu) is a multi-purpose stadium in Bursa, Turkey. It is currently used mostly for football matches and is the home ground of Bursaspor.

  • Boukoleon Palace

    The Palace of Boukoleon (Greek: Βουκολέων) or Bucoleon was one of the Byzantine palaces in Constantinople (present-day Istanbul in Turkey.) It was probably built by Theodosius II in the 5th century.

  • Bahçeşehir University

    Bahçeşehir University is a private educational institution in Turkey, located at the European side of Istanbul. The Turkish National Assembly authorized the establishment of the University of Bahçeşehir by the Bahçeşehir Uğur Education Foundation in…

  • Alaca Höyük

    Alacahöyük or Alaca Höyük (sometimes also spelled as Alacahüyük, Aladja-Hoyuk, Euyuk, or Evuk) is the site of a Neolithic and Hittite settlement and is an important archaeological site. It is situated in Alaca, Çorum Province, northeast of Boğazkale…

  • Aksaray Province

    Aksaray Province (Turkish: Aksaray ili) is a province in central Turkey. Its adjacent provinces are Konya along the west and south, Niğde to the southeast, Nevşehir to the east, and Kırşehir to the north. It covers an area of 7,626 km².

  • Adana Şakirpaşa Airport

    Adana Airport or Adana Şakirpaşa Airport (Turkish: Adana Şakirpaşa Havalimanı) (IATA: ADA, ICAO: LTAF) is an airport located in the city of Adana in the Adana Province of Turkey.

  • Çorlu

    Çorlu (pronounced [ˈtʃoɾɫu]) is a northwestern Turkish city in inland Eastern Thrace that falls under the administration of the Province of Tekirdağ. It is a rapidly developing industrial centre built on flatland located on the highway D.100 and off…

  • Tokat Province

    Tokat Province (Turkish: Tokat ili) is a province in northern Turkey. Its adjacent provinces are Amasya to the northwest, Yozgat to the southwest, Sivas to the southeast, and Ordu to the northeast.

  • Siirt Province

    Siirt Province, (Turkish: Siirt ili, Kurdish: Parêzgeha Sêrt) is a province of Turkey, located in the southeast. The province borders Bitlis to the north, Batman to the west, Mardin to the southwest, Şırnak to the south, and Van to the east. It has …

  • Palace of the Porphyrogenitus

    The Palace of the Porphyrogenitus (Greek: τὰ βασίλεια τοῦ Πορφυρογεννήτου), known in Turkish as the Tekfur Sarayı ("Palace of the Sovereign"), is a late 13th-century Byzantine palace in the north-western part of the old city of Constantinople (prese…

  • Muş

    Muş (pronounced [muʃ]; transliterated as Mush, also historically Moush or Moosh; Armenian: Մուշ, Kurdish: Mûş) is a town and the provincial capital of Muş Province in Turkey.

  • Kekova

    Kekova, also named Caravola (Lycian: Dolichiste), is a small Turkish island near Demre (Demre is the Lycian town of Myra) district of Antalya province which faces the villages of Kaleköy (ancient Simena) and Üçağız (ancient Teimioussa).

  • Haseki Hürrem Sultan Hamamı

    The Haseki Hürrem Sultan Hamamı (literally: Bath-house of Haseki Hürrem Sultan), aka Ayasofya Haseki Hamamı, is a Turkish hamam that was commissioned by the Ottoman Sultan Suleiman I's consort, Hürrem Sultan, and constructed by Mimar Sinan during th…

  • Constitutional Court of Turkey

    The Constitutional Court of Turkey (Turkish: Anayasa Mahkemesi) is the highest legal body for constitutional review in Turkey. It "examines the constitutionality, in respect of both form and substance, of laws, decrees having the force of law, and t…

  • Abydos (Hellespont)

    Abydos (Ancient Greek: Ἄβῡδος) or Abydus, an ancient city of Troad (Troas), in Asia Minor, situated at Nara Burnu or Nagara Point on the best harbor on the Asiatic shore of the Hellespont. Across Abydos lies Sestus on the European side, marking one …

  • Çorum

    Çorum (Turkish pronunciation: [ˈtʃoɾum]) is a landlocked northern Anatolian city that is the capital of the Çorum Province of Turkey. Çorum is located inland in the central Black Sea Region of Turkey, and is approximately 244 km (152 mi) from Ankara…

  • Vaspurakan

    Vaspurakan (also transliterated as Vasbouragan in Western Armenian; Armenian: Վասպուրական, (Vaspourakan) meaning the "noble land" or "land of princes") was the eighth province of Greater Armenia, which later became an independent kingdom during the …