Articles in Peru ( 552 )

552 Articles of interest in Peru

Click on them to get its location and coordinates
  • Lunahuaná

    Lunahuaná is a small village in the Cañete Province in Peru. The town lies about 187 km south of Lima in the Lunahuaná valley at the bank of Cañete River. Lunahuaná is located 476 meters above sea level . Due to the unique landscape Lunahuaná is a v…

  • Limón Dam

    The Limón Dam, part of the Olmos Transandino Project, is an under construction multi-purpose concrete-face rock-fill embankment dam on the Huancabamba River in northwestern Peru, located to the south of Guabal. When completed, the project will help …

  • Yanawayin Lake

    Yanawayin (Quechua yana black, Ancash Quechua wayi house, "black house", -n a suffix, other spellings Yanahuain, Yanahuin, Yanahuni, Yanahuani) is a lake in the central Peruvian Andes. It lies in the Lima Region, Huaral Province, Andamarca District,…

  • Caraz

    Caraz is a town in the Caraz District in the southeastern part of Huaylas Province of the Ancash Region in Peru.

  • Cajamarquilla

    The Cajamarquilla archaeological site is located 25 km inland from the coastal city of Lima, Peru; in the Jicamarca Valley, 6 km north of the Rímac River. It occupies an area of approximately 167 ha, making it one of the largest archaeological monum…

  • La Merced, Junín

    La Merced, Chanchamayo (in hispanicized spelling) or Chanchamayu (Quechua chanchay to walk and leap about, to walk quickly and confused, chancha chancha to walk quickly and irregularly, shancha a kind of bird, mayu river) is the capital of the Chanc…

  • Javary River

    The Javary River, Javari River or Yavarí River (Spanish: Río Yavarí; Portuguese: Rio Javari) is a 1,184 km (736 mi) tributary of the Amazon that forms the boundary between Brazil and Peru for more than 500 mi (800 km). It is navigable by canoe for 9…

  • Huamachuco

    Huamachuco is a town in northern Peru and capital of the province Sánchez Carrión in La Libertad Region. The city is the seat of the Territorial Prelature of Huamachuco.

  • Estadio Monumental Virgen de Chapi

    Estadio Monumental Virgen de Chapi, known also as the Estadio Monumental de la UNSA or simply Estadio de la UNSA, is a multi-purpose stadium located in Arequipa, Peru. The stadium was built by the University of San Agustín in the early 1990s and nam…

  • Cerro Azul, Peru

    Cerro Azul ("Blue Hill") is a fishing village and formerly a commercial port in the Cañete Province, Lima Region, Peru. Located 131 km south of Lima, it is frequently visited in the summer by its residents, and those of San Vicente de Cañete. The vi…

  • Canta

    Canta is a town in the Lima Region, in western Peru. The town is located on the Chillón River and is the capital of the Canta Province. With a population of 2,918 (2005 census), it is also the capital of Canta District. It is frequently visited by t…

  • Basilica Cathedral of Arequipa

    The Basilica Cathedral of Arequipa ("Basílica Catedral", in Spanish) is located in the "Plaza de Armas" of the city of Arequipa, province of Arequipa, Peru. It is the most important Catholic church of the city and also of the larger Roman Catholic A…

  • Toro Muerto

    Toro Muerto (English: Dead Bull) is a collection of ancient petroglyphs in the Peruvian coastal desert, found in the Castilla province in the region Arequipa in Peru.

  • Tambo River (Peru)

    The Tambo River (Spanish: Río Tambo) is a Peruvian river on the eastern slopes of the Andes. The name only refers to a relatively short section; about 159 km (99 mi) long. It starts at the confluence of the Ene and Perené Rivers at the town of Puert…

  • Tacora

    Tacora is a stratovolcano located in the Andes of the Arica y Parinacota Region of Chile. Bordering Peru, it is the northernmost volcano of Chile.

  • Sechura

    Sechura is a town in northwestern Peru, 50 km south of Piura. It is the capital of Sechura Province in the Piura Region. The town gives its name to the Sechura Desert, which extends south along most of coastal Peru.

  • Sanctuary of Las Nazarenas

    The Sanctuary of Las Nazarenas is a church in Lima and is the site of the Peruvian catholic procession of the Lord of Miracles, Señor de los Milagros, who is also the patron of the city.

  • Real Felipe Fortress

    The Real Felipe Fortress was built to defend the main Peruvian port and the city of Lima from pirates and corsairs during colonial times. The fortress was pivotal in the 1866 naval battle between a Spanish fleet sent to South America to "reclaim" it…

  • Quillabamba

    Quillabamba is a small town located in the south of Peru. It is the capital of La Convención Province, which is the largest province of Cusco. It is located in an area called the higher jungle. Agriculture is the most important activity, principally…

  • Nevado Pisco

    Nevado Pisco is a mountain in Peru, located in the Cordillera Blanca about 60 km north of Huaraz. Nevado Pisco was first climbed on July 12, 1951 by C. Kogan, G. Kogan, R.Leininger and M.

  • Mosque Bab ul Islam

    The Mosque of Bab ul Islam is located in Tacna, Peru. It is accompanied by a formal Islamic School for Muslim children along with the education of latest technologies.

  • Laguna de las Momias

    Laguna de las Momias (Lagoon of the Mummies), also known as Laguna de los Cóndores (Lagoon of the Condors) is an archaeological site located in Leimebamba, in the province of Chachapoyas in the Amazonas Region of Peru, excavated by the archaeologist…

  • Estadio Mansiche

    Mansiche Stadium (Estadio Mansiche) is a multi-purpose stadium in Trujillo, Peru. It is used by many football clubs in Trujillo such as Primera División club Universidad César Vallejo and Carlos A. Mannucci.

  • Chuschi

    Chuschi is a town in the Chuschi District of the Cangallo Province of the Ayacucho Region of Peru. On May 17, 1980, Shining Path guerrillas began their war against the Peruvian state by burning ballot boxes in Chuschi.

  • Chulucanas

    Chulucanas is a town in Morropón Province, Piura Region, Peru. It lies in the Piura Valley just north of the confluence of the Charanal River with the Piura River.