Articles in Nicaragua ( 210 )

210 Articles of interest in Nicaragua

Click on them to get its location and coordinates
  • Nicaragua

    Nicaragua (American English: /ˌnɪkəˈrɑːɡwə/, British English: /ˌnɪkəˈræɡjə/), officially the Republic of Nicaragua (Spanish: República de Nicaragua [reˈpuβlika ðe nikaˈɾaɣwa]), is the largest country in the Central American isthmus, bordering Hond…

  • Nicaragua Canal

    The Nicaragua Canal (Spanish: Canal de Nicaragua), formally the Nicaraguan Canal and Development Project (also referred to as the Nicaragua Grand Canal, or the Nicaragua Interoceanic Grand Canal) is a shipping route under construction through Nicara…

  • Lake Nicaragua

    Lake Nicaragua or Cocibolca or Granada (Spanish: Lago de Nicaragua, Lago Cocibolca, Mar Dulce, Gran Lago, Gran Lago Dulce, or Lago de Granada) is a freshwater lake in Nicaragua. Of tectonic origin and with an area of 8,264 km2 (3,191 sq mi), it is t…

  • Mosquito Coast

    The Mosquito Coast, also known as the Miskito Coast, historically comprised an area along the eastern coast of present-day Nicaragua and Honduras. It formed part of the Western Caribbean Zone. It was named after the local Miskito Indians and was lon…

  • Granada, Nicaragua

    Granada is a city in western Nicaragua and the capital of the Granada Department. With an estimated population of 123,697 (2012), it is Nicaragua's sixth most populous city. Granada is historically one of Nicaragua's most important cities, economica…

  • San Juan del Sur

    San Juan del Sur is a municipality and coastal town on the Pacific Ocean, in the Rivas department in south-west Nicaragua. It is located 140 kilometers (87 miles) south of Managua.

  • Masaya Volcano

    Masaya is a caldera located in the department of Masaya, 20 km south of Managua, Nicaragua. It is Nicaragua's first and largest National Park, and one of 78 protected areas of Nicaragua. The complex volcano is composed of a nested set of calderas an…

  • Corn Islands

    The Corn Islands (Spanish: Las Islas del Maíz) are two islands about 70 kilometres (43 mi) east of the Caribbean coast of Nicaragua, constituting one of 12 municipalities of the South Caribbean Coast Autonomous Region.

  • Ometepe

    Ometepe is an island formed by two volcanoes rising from Lake Nicaragua in the Republic of Nicaragua. Its name derives from the Nahuatl words ome (two) and tepetl (mountain), meaning two mountains.

  • Augusto C. Sandino International Airport

    Augusto César Sandino International Airport (Spanish: Aeropuerto Internacional Augusto César Sandino) (IATA: MGA, ICAO: MNMG) or ACS is the main airport in Managua, Nicaragua. Named as Las Mercedes Airport in 1968 it was later renamed Augusto César …

  • Geography of Nicaragua

    Nicaragua (officially the Republic of Nicaragua Spanish: República de Nicaragua [reˈpuβlika ðe nikaˈɾaɣwa]) is a country in Central America, bordering both the Caribbean Sea and the North Pacific Ocean, between Costa Rica and Honduras. Approximately…

  • Bluefields

    Bluefields is the capital of the municipality of the same name, and of the South Caribbean Coast Autonomous Region (RACCS) in Nicaragua. It was also capital of the former Zelaya Department, which was divided into North and South Caribbean Coast Auto…

  • Cerro Negro

    Cerro Negro is a volcano in the Cordillera de los Maribios mountain range in Nicaragua, about 10 km from the village of Malpaisillo. It is a very new volcano, the youngest in Central America, having first appeared in April 1850. It consists of a gra…

  • Jinotega

    The city of Jinotega (Spanish pronunciation: [xinoˈteɣa]) is the capital of the department of Jinotega in the north central region of Nicaragua.

  • Matagalpa

    Matagalpa : (Spanish pronunciation: [mataˈɣalpa]) is a city in Nicaragua, the capital of the department of Matagalpa. The city has a population of 150,643 (2012 census), while the population of the department is more than 542,000. Matagalpa is Nicar…

  • 1972 Nicaragua earthquake

    The 1972 Nicaragua earthquake occurred at 12:29 a.m. local time (06:29 UTC) on Saturday, December 23 near Managua, the capital of Nicaragua. It had a magnitude of 6.2, with the epicenter 28 kilometers northeast of the city centre, and a depth of abo…

  • San Juan River (Nicaragua)

    The San Juan (Spanish: Río San Juan), also known as El Desaguadero ("the drain"), is a 192.06 km (119.7 mi) river that flows east out of Lake Nicaragua into the Caribbean Sea. A large section of the border between Nicaragua and Costa Rica runs on th…

  • Lake Managua

    Lake Managua (Spanish pronunciation: [maˈnaɣwa]) (also known as Lake Xolotlán) (located at (12°20′N86°25′W) is a lake in Nicaragua. The Spanish name is Lago de Managua or Lago Xolotlán. At 1,042 km², it is approximately 65 kilometres (40 mi) long a…

  • Estelí

    Estelí, officially Villa de San Antonio de Pavia de Estelí is a city and municipality within the Estelí department.

  • Pearl Lagoon

    Pearl Lagoon (Spanish: Laguna de Perlas, Spanish pronunciation: [laˈɣuna ðe ˈperlas]) is a town in the municipality by the same name. It is located in South Caribbean Coast Autonomous Region (RACCS) of Nicaragua.

  • Puerto Cabezas

    Puerto Cabezas (Spanish pronunciation: [ˈpweɾto kaˈβesas]; English: Bragman's Bluff; Miskito: Bilwi) is a municipality in, and capital of, the North Caribbean Coast Autonomous Region (RACCN) of Nicaragua.

  • Chinandega

    Chinandega (Spanish pronunciation: [tʃinanˈdeɣa]) is a city and the departmental seat of Chinandega department (4,822.42 km2) in Nicaragua. It is also the administrative centre of the surrounding municipality of the same name. It is Nicaragua's fift…

  • Momotombo

    Momotombo is a stratovolcano in Nicaragua, not far from the city of León. It stands on the shores of Lago de Managua. An eruption of the volcano in 1610 forced inhabitants of the Spanish city of León to relocate about 30 miles west.

  • San Cristóbal Volcano

    Volcán San Cristóbal is the highest volcano in Nicaragua at 1,745 m (5,725 ft). Located near to the northwest corner of the country, it forms a majestic backdrop to the city of Chichigalpa, Chinandega.

  • Maderas

    With a height of 1,394 m, Maderas is the smaller of the two volcanoes which make up the island of Ometepe, situated in Lake Nicaragua in Nicaragua, Central America. Unlike Concepción, the other volcano on the island, Maderas has not been active in h…

  • Solentiname Islands

    The Solentiname Islands (Spanish pronunciation: [solentiˈname]) are an archipelago towards the southern end of Lake Nicaragua (also known as Lake Cocibolca) in the Nicaraguan department of Río San Juan.

  • Islets of Granada

    The islets of Granada (Spanish: Isletas de Granada) are located in Lake Nicaragua, just southeast of the city of Granada in Nicaragua. The islets are a group of 365 small islands scattered about the Asese peninsula. The islets are of volcanic origin…