Articles in Sri Lanka ( 926 )

926 Articles of interest in Sri Lanka

Click on them to get its location and coordinates
  • 1990 Batticaloa massacre

    The 1990 Batticaloa massacre, also known as the Sathurukondan massacre (Tamil: சத்துருக்கொண்டான் படுகொலை), was a massacre of at least 184 minority Sri Lankan Tamil refugees, including infants, from three villages in the Batticaloa District by the Sr…

  • 1984 Mannar massacre

    The 1984 Mannar massacre was the killing of between 107 and 150 minority Sri Lankan Tamils civilians by Sri Lankan Army soldiers in the town of Mannar, north-western Sri Lanka, on December 4, 1984. The attack was triggered when three Army jeeps hit …

  • Pungudutivu

    Pungudutivu (Tamil: புங்குடுதீவு) is a small island composed of number villages that is just west of the Jaffna Peninsula in Sri Lankan Tamil dominated Northern Province. It is divided into 12 wards internally, each corresponding a major settlement.…

  • Pottuvil

    Pottuvil ‍or Pothuvil or Poththuvil (Sinhala:පොතුවිල්)(Tamil: பொத்துவில்) is a town in the Ampara District of Sri Lanka, located along the Eastern coast of the Island, it is 4 km due North of the popular tourist destination Arugam Bay.

  • Navaly church bombing

    The Navaly Church bombing was the bombing of The Church of Saint Peter and Saint Paul in Navaly or Navali in the Jaffna peninsula in Sri Lanka by the Sri Lankan Air Force. It is estimated that at least 125 civilians, who had taken refuge from the fi…

  • Muttur (Sri Lanka)

    Muttur or Mutur is a town in the Trincomalee District of Sri Lanka and it is located about 25 km South of Trincomalee, on the Southern side of the Trincomalee Harbour.

  • Maviddapuram

    Maviddapuram (Tamil: மாவிட்டபுரம்) is a holy village in the Sri Lankan district of Jaffna under the Tellipalai divisional secretariat. It is near the Palali airport, Kankesanthurai harbour and Keerimalai coast which is famous for the Naguleswaram Sh…

  • Matugama

    Matugama (Sinhalese: මතුගම) is a town. It is an electorate of the Kalutara district, in Western Province, Sri Lanka. The town is located 64 km to the south of Colombo.

  • Mandativu

    Mandativu or Mandaitheevu (Tamil: மண்டைதீவு) is small island off the coast of minority Sri Lankan Tamil dominated Jaffna Peninsula in north Sri lanka.

  • Laxapana Falls

    Laxapana Falls is 126m high and the 8th highest waterfall in Sri Lanka and 625th highest waterfall in the world. It is situated in Maskeliya area in Nuwara Eliya District, about 16 Kilometers from Maskeliya town on Maskeliya-Norton Bridge road, in a…

  • Kinniya

    Kinniya (Tamil: கிண்ணியா) is a small town in the Trincomalee District of the Eastern province of Sri Lanka.

  • Galaha

    Galaha (Sinhalese: ගලහා,Tamil: கலஹா) is a small town located in the central Sri Lanka. Situated at an elevation of about 700 metres (2,300 ft), it is one of the first tea planted areas in Sri Lanka, 20 kilometres (12 mi) south of Kandy.

  • Eravur

    Eravur is a town in the Batticaloa District of Eastern Province, Sri Lanka, it is located about 15 km north-west of Batticaloa.

  • Eastern University massacre

    Eastern University massacre also known as Vantharamulai (also Vantharoomulai) campus massacre refers to the arrest and subsequent mass murder of 158 minority Sri Lankan Tamil refugees who had taken refuge in the Eastern University campus close to th…

  • Dharmapala Vidyalaya

    Dharmapala Vidyalaya, Pannipitiya, established in 1942 on land owned by Anagarika Dharmapala, is a Buddhist school in Sri Lanka. It is a national school and provides primary and secondary education.

  • Chunnakam

    Chunnakam (Tamil: சுன்னாகம், Sinhala: චුන්නාකම් CHUNNNAKAM) is a big town, located six miles north of the city of Jaffna. It is one of the important commercial centers in Jaffna.

  • Bogawantalawa

    Bogawantalawa (also spelled Bogawanthalawa) is a small town in the Central province of Sri Lanka. It is situated at 1514 m elevation above sea level. Situated about 150 km east of Colombo, famous for its Tea estates.

  • Wattegama

    Wattegama( වත්තේගම) is a town and Urban Council in Kandy District in the Central Province of Sri Lanka.

  • Wadduwa

    Wadduwa is a town situated in the western coast of Sri Lanka about 33 km south of Colombo. It spans from within the 30.5 to 36.5 km area along the Galle Road and sideways 4.5 km for the land side and around 1 km for the seaside too. It is also famou…

  • Tellippalai

    Tellippalai or Thellippalai (Tamil: தெல்லிப்பழை Tellippaḻai) is a small town in the northern Jaffna District of Sri Lanka.

  • Sri Dharmaloka College

    Sri Dharmaloka College is one of the well-established prominent national schools in the Western province of Sri Lanka, situated near the Kelaniya Temple. The school opened in 1938 on the premises of Vidyalankara Pirivena. In the 1950s, the college m…

  • Ampara Airport

    Ampara Airport (Sinhalese: අම්පාර ගුවන්තොටුපළ, Tamil: அம்பாறை விமான நிலையம்) (IATA: ADP, ICAO: VCCG) is an air force base and domestic airport in Gal Oya in south eastern Sri Lanka.

  • Puthukkudiyiruppu (Mullaitivu)

    Puthukkudiyiruppu (Tamil: புதுக்குடியிருப்பு, Sinhala: ඵුතුක්කුඩියිරුප්පු) (Pronounced : Puthuk-kudiy-iruppu)[needs IPA] is a small town in the Mullaitivu District of Sri Lanka.

  • Ohiya

    Ohiya (ඔහිය)is a rural village located in Badulla District of Uva Province, Sri Lanka. It is much closer to the Horton Plains National Park. The picturesque Colombo -Badulla Railyway runs through Ohiya.

  • Navaly

    Navaly or Navaaly is a town in the Jaffna District of Sri Lanka and it is located about 8 km from Jaffna.

  • Nagerkovil school bombing

    The Nager Kovil school bombing refers to a disputed incident in the Sri Lankan Civil War. Tamil sources claim that on September 22, 1995, the Sri Lankan Air Force bombed the Nagar Kovil Maha Vidyalayam school in Jaffna, resulting in the death of, by…

  • Modara

    Modara, also known as Mutwal (anglicised version), is a municipal ward of Colombo, capital of Sri Lanka. The mouth of the river Kelani Ganga also lies nearby.

  • Minuwangoda

    Minuwangoda is a town, governed by an Urban Council, situated in Gampaha District, Western Province of Sri Lanka. It is an important junction town, connecting the Negombo to Kandy road (via Nittambuwa) with the A1/A6 main road from Colombo to Kurune…

  • Medawachchiya

    Medawachchiya is a town in the Anuradhapura District, North Central Province of Sri Lanka. Situated 27 km from Anuradhapura, on the A9 Jaffna - Kandy main road, it is 229 km from Colombo. Medawachchiya is also the point from which the A14 main road …