Articles in Honduras ( 374 )

374 Articles of interest in Honduras

Click on them to get its location and coordinates
  • Tegucigalpa

    Tegucigalpa (Spanish pronunciation: [teɣusiˈɣalpa], formally Tegucigalpa, Municipality of the Central District Spanish: Tegucigalpa, Municipio del Distrito Central or Tegucigalpa, M.D.C.), commonly referred to as Tegus, is the capital of Honduras an…

  • Copán

    Copán is an archaeological site of the Maya civilization located in the Copán Department of western Honduras, not far from the border with Guatemala. It was the capital city of a major Classic period kingdom from the 5th to 9th centuries AD. The cit…

  • El Mozote massacre

    The El Mozote Massacre took place in and around the village of El Mozote, in Morazán department, El Salvador, on December 11, 1981, when the Salvadoran Army killed more than 800 civilians during the Salvadoran Civil War.

  • Geography of Honduras

    Honduras is a country situated in Central America. Honduras borders the Caribbean Sea and the North Pacific Ocean. Guatemala lies to the west, Nicaragua south east and El Salvador to the south west. It is the second largest Central American republic.

  • La Ceiba

    La Ceiba (Spanish pronunciation: [la ˈseiβa]) is a port city on the northern coast of Honduras in Central America. It is located on the southern edge of the Caribbean, forming part of the south eastern boundary of the Gulf of Honduras. With an estim…

  • Bay Islands Department

    Islas de la Bahía (Spanish pronunciation: [ˈislas ðe la βaˈi.a], "Bay Islands") is one of the 18 departments into which the Central American nation of Honduras is divided.

  • Soto Cano Air Base

    Soto Cano Air Base (commonly known as Palmerola Air Base) is a Honduran military base 5 mi (8.0 km) to the south of Comayagua in Honduras. It houses between 500-600 US troops and is also used by the Honduran Air Force academy.

  • Ramón Villeda Morales International Airport

    Ramón Villeda Morales International Airport Aeropuerto Internacional Ramón Villeda Morales (IATA: SAP, ICAO: MHLM), also known as La Mesa International Airport, is located 11 km (6.8 mi) from the city of San Pedro Sula, in the Cortés Department in H…

  • Útila

    Utila (Isla de Utila)[1] is the smallest of the Honduras' Bay Islands, after Roatán and Guanaja, in a region that marks the south end of the Mesoamerican Barrier Reef System, the second-largest in the world.

  • Juan Manuel Gálvez International Airport

    Juan Manuel Gálvez International Airport (Spanish: Aeropuerto Internacional Juan Manuel Gálvez) (IATA: RTB, ICAO: MHRO) is an airport located on the island of Roatán in the Bay Islands Department in Honduras. It serves national and international air…

  • TACA Flight 390

    TACA Flight 390 was a scheduled flight on May 30, 2008, by TACA Airlines from San Salvador, El Salvador, to Miami, Florida, United States, with intermediate stops at Tegucigalpa and San Pedro Sula in Honduras.

  • Puerto Cortés

    Puerto Cortės in a city on the north (Atlantic) coast of Honduras. Originally known as Puerto de Caballos, the present town was founded in the early colonial period. It grew rapidly in the twentieth century, thanks to the railroad, which exists no l…

  • Guanaja

    Guanaja is one of the Bay Islands of Honduras and is in the Caribbean. It is about 70 kilometres (43 mi) off the north coast of Honduras, and 12 kilometres (7.5 mi) from the island of Roatan. One of the cays off Guanaja, also called Guanaja or Bonna…

  • Gracias

    Gracias (Spanish pronunciation: [ˈɡɾasjas]) is a small Honduran town/municipality that was founded in 1536, and is the capital of Lempira Department.

  • Swan Islands, Honduras

    The Swan Islands, or Islas Santanilla or Islas del Cisne, are a chain of three islands located in the northwestern Caribbean Sea, approximately 95 miles (153 km) off the coastline of Honduras, with a land area of 3.1 km2 (1.2 sq mi).

  • Cayos Cochinos

    The Cayos Cochinos or Cochinos Cays are a group of two small islands (15°58′18.99″N86°28′31.34″W) (Cayo Menor and Cayo Grande) and 13 more small coral cays situated 30 kilometres (19 mi) northeast of La Ceiba on the northern shores of Honduras. Alt…

  • Gracias a Dios Department

    Gracias a Dios (Spanish pronunciation: [ˈɡɾasjas a ðjos], Thank God) is one of the 18 departments (departamentos) into which the Central American nation of Honduras is divided. The departmental capital is Puerto Lempira; until 1975 it was Brus Lagun…

  • Coxen Hole

    Coxen Hole, also called Roatan Town, is the largest city on the island of Roatán, and the capital of the Bay Islands department of Honduras, with a population of 5,070 as of census 2001. It is also the location of the island's Juan Manuel Gálvez Int…

  • Golosón International Airport

    Golosón International Airport (Spanish: Aeropuerto Internacional Golosón) (IATA: LCE, ICAO: MHLC) is an airport located on the western side of the city of La Ceiba, in the Atlántida Department on the north coast of Honduras. It is also known as La C…

  • Battle of Roatán

    The Battle of Roatán (sometimes spelled "Rattan") was an American War of Independence battle fought on March 16, 1782, between British and Spanish forces for control of Roatán, an island off the Caribbean coast of present-day Honduras.

  • Copán Ruinas

    Copán Ruinas is a municipality in the Honduran department of Copán. The town, located close to the Guatemalan border, is a major gateway for tourists traveling to the Pre-Columbian ruins of Copán.

  • Cerro El Pital

    Cerro El Pital is a mountain in Central America, on the border of El Salvador and Honduras. It is located 12 km (7 mi) from the town of La Palma at a height of 2,730 m (8,957 ft) above sea level, and is the highest point in Salvadoran territory.

  • Omoa

    Omoa is a town and a municipality in the Department of Cortés of the Central American country of Honduras. Omoa is located on a small bay of the same name 18 km.

  • La Esperanza, Honduras

    La Esperanza (Spanish pronunciation: [la espeˈɾansa]) is the capital city and a municipality of the same name of the department of Intibucá, Honduras. The city of La Esperanza is merged indistinguishably with the city of Intibucá, the head of the ne…