Articles in Albania ( 287 )

287 Articles of interest in Albania

Click on them to get its location and coordinates
  • Albania

    Albania (/ælˈbniə/, al-BAY-nee-ə, or sometimes /ɔːlˈbniə/, awl-BAY-nee-ə; Albanian: Shqipëri/Shqipëria; Gheg Albanian: Shqipni/Shqipnia, Shqypni/Shqypnia), officially known as the Republic of Albania (Albanian: Republika e Shqipërisë; Albanian p…

  • Tirana

    Tirana /tɨˈrɑːnə/ (Standard Albanian: Tiranë; regional Gheg Albanian: Tirona) is the capital and largest city of Albania.

  • Durrës

    Durrës is the second largest city of Albania and is central on the coast, about 33 km (21 mi) west of the capital Tirana.

  • Tirana International Airport Nënë Tereza

    Tirana International Airport Nënë Tereza (Albanian: Aeroporti Ndërkombëtar i Tiranës Nënë Tereza, IATA: TIA, ICAO: LATI) is Albania's only international airport. It is commonly known as Rinas International Airport, as it is located 6 NM (11 km; 6.9 …

  • Gorani people

    The Gorani or Goranci (Cyrillic: Горани or Горанци, meaning Highlanders, pronounced [ɡɔ̌rani] or [ɡɔrǎːntsi]) are a Slavic Muslim ethnic group inhabiting the Gora region - the triangle between Kosovo, Albania, and Macedonia.

  • Elbasan

    Elbasan (Albanian: Elbasan or Elbasani) is a city in central Albania. It is located on the Shkumbin River in the District of Elbasan and the County of Elbasan, at (41°06′N20°04′E). It is one of the largest cities in Albania: the population at the 2…

  • Sarandë

    Saranda or Sarandë (Greek: Άγιοι Σαράντα, Agioi Saranda) is a municipality in Vlorë County, southern Albania. It is one of the most important tourist attractions of the Albanian Riviera. It is situated on an open sea gulf of the Ionian Sea in the ce…

  • List of Roman amphitheatres

    The remains of at least 230 amphitheatres have been found widely scattered around the area of the Roman Empire. These are usually oval, and are not to be confused with the more common "ordinary" theatres, which are semicircular structures. There are…

  • Elbasan Arena

    Elbasan Arena (Albanian: Elbasan Arena, formerly known as Ruzhdi Bizhuta) is a multi-purpose stadium in Elbasan, Albania. The stadium was completed in 1967 and has been the home ground of KF Elbasani ever since.

  • Fier

    Fier (Albanian: Fier or Fieri) is a city in southwest Albania, in the district and county of the same name. The population at the 2011 census was 55,845. It is located at (40°43′N19°33′E).

  • Parliament of Albania

    The Parliament of Albania (Albanian: Kuvendi i Shqipërisë or short Kuvendi or Parlamenti), formerly the People's Parliament (Albanian: Kuvendi Popullor) is the unicameral parliament of the Republic of Albania. It has 140 members, elected for four-ye…

  • Geography of Albania

    Albania has a total area of 28,748 km2 (11,100 sq mi). It shares a 186 km (116 mi) border with Montenegro to the northwest, a 112 km (70 mi) border with Kosovo to the northeast, a 181 km (112 mi) border with Macedonia to the north and east, and a 21…

  • Qemal Stafa Stadium

    The Qemal Stafa Stadium (Albanian: Stadiumi Qemal Stafa), named after Qemal Stafa a World War II hero, is a national stadium and the largest football stadium in Tirana, Albania. Construction started in 1939 and the stadium was inaugurated in 1946 fo…

  • Mount Korab

    Mount Korab (Albanian: Maja e Korabit or Mali i Korabit; Macedonian: Голем Кораб, Golem Korab) is the highest mountain of Albania and the Republic of Macedonia, its peak forming a frontier between the two countries. The peak lies adjacent to the Šar…

  • Lake Skadar

    Lake Skadar (Albanian: Liqeni i Shkodrës, pronounced [liˈcɛni i ˈʃkɔdrəs]; Montenegrin and Serbian: Скадарско језеро, Skadarsko jezero, pronounced [skâdarskɔː jɛ̂zɛrɔ]) — also called Lake Scutari, Lake Shkodër and Lake Shkodra — lies on the border o…

  • Jovan Vladimir

    Jovan Vladimir or John Vladimir (Serbian Cyrillic: Јован Владимир; ca. 990 – 22 May 1016) was the ruler of Duklja, the most powerful Serbian principality of the time, from around 1000 to 1016. He ruled during the protracted war between the Byzantine…

  • Battle of Dyrrhachium (1081)

    The Battle of Dyrrhachium (near present-day Durrës in Albania) took place on October 18, 1081 between the Byzantine Empire, led by the Emperor Alexius I Comnenus (r. 1081–1118), and the Normans of southern Italy under Robert Guiscard, Duke of Apulia…

  • Buthrotum

    Buthrotum (Albanian: Butrint; Latin: Buthrōtum; from Ancient Greek: Βουθρωτόν, Bouthrōtón) was an ancient Greek and later Roman city in Epirus. In modern times it is an archeological site in Sarandë District, Albania, some 14 kilometres south of Sar…

  • Apollonia (Illyria)

    Apollonia (Ancient Greek: Ἀπολλωνία κατ᾿ Ἐπίδαμνον or Ἀπολλωνία πρὸς Ἐπίδαμνον, Apollonia kat' Epidamnon or Apollonia pros Epidamnon) was an ancient Greek city in Illyria, located on the right bank of the Aous river (modern-day Vjosë). Its ruins are…

  • Top Channel

    Top Channel is a national commercial television station from Tirana, Albania, founded in 2001 by businessman Dritan Hoxha. A part of Top Media Group, in January 2008 Top Channel was awarded national frequency coverage by making it the third such cha…

  • Galičica

    Galičica (Macedonian:  Галичица , is a mountain situated across the border between the Republic of Macedonia and Albania. There is a National park on the Macedonian side of the mountain, situated between the two biggest lakes in the republic: Lake O…

  • Vlorë County

    Vlorë County (Albanian: Qarku i Vlorës) is one of the 12 counties of Albania. The population at the 2011 census was 175,640, in an area of 2706 km².

  • National Historical Museum (Albania)

    The National Museum of History (Albanian: Muzeu Historik Kombëtar) in Tirana, Albania, is the country's largest museum. It was opened on 28 October 1981 and is 27,000 square metres in size, while 18,000 square metres are available for expositions.

  • Berat County

    Berat County (Albanian: Qarku i Beratit) is one of the 12 counties of Albania. The population at the 2011 census was 141,944, in an area of 1798 km².

  • Tirana County

    The County of Tirana (Albanian: Qarku i Tiranës) is one of the 12 Counties of Albania. The population at the 2011 census was 749,365, in an area of 1652 km².

  • Lushnjë

    Lushnjë (Albanian pronunciation: [ˈluʃɲə]) (Lushnje (ˈluʃɲe) in Lushnjë's own dialect) is a city in Central-West Albania. It is located in the County of Fier. The population at the 2011 census was 31,105. The town was founded in late medieval times …

  • Korçë County

    The County of Korçë (Albanian: Qarku i Korçës) is one of the 12 counties of Albania, located in the eastern part of the country. The population at the 2011 census was 220,357, in an area of 3711 km². It is the largest county of Albania by area.

  • Shkodër County

    Shkodër County (Albanian: Qarku i Shkodrës) is one of the 12 counties of Albania. The population at the 2011 census was 215,347, in an area of 3562 km². Its capital is the city Shkodër.

  • Dibër County

    Dibër County (Albanian: Qarku i Dibrës) is one of the 12 counties of Albania. The population at the 2011 census was 137,047, in an area of 2586 km².

  • Elbasan County

    Elbasan County (Albanian: Qarku i Elbasanit) is one of the 12 counties of Albania. The population at the 2011 census was 295,827, in an area of 3199 km².

  • Blue Eye, Albania

    The Blue Eye (Albanian: Syri i kaltër) is a water spring and natural phenomenon occurring in Delvinë District, Albania. A popular tourist attraction, the clear blue water of the river bubbles forth from a stunning, more than fifty-metre-deep pool.