Articles in Uganda ( 542 )

542 Articles of interest in Uganda

Click on them to get its location and coordinates
  • Uganda

    Uganda (/juːˈɡændə/ yew-GAN-də or /juːˈɡɑːndə/ yew-GAHN-də), officially the Republic of Uganda, is a landlocked country in East Africa. It is bordered to the east by Kenya, to the north by South Sudan, to the west by the Democratic Republic of the C…

  • Lake Victoria

    Lake Victoria (Nam Lolwe in Luo; "Nalubaale" in Luganda; Nyanza in Kinyarwanda and some Bantu language) is one of the African Great Lakes. The lake was named after Queen Victoria by the explorer John Hanning Speke, the first European to document it.

  • Kampala

    Kampala is the capital and largest city in Uganda. The city is divided into five boroughs that oversee local planning: Kampala Central Division, Kawempe Division, Makindye Division, Nakawa Division and Lubaga Division. The city is coterminous with K…

  • Apac

    Apac is a town in Apac District, Northern Uganda. It is the 'chief town' of the district and the district headquarters are located there.

  • White Nile

    The White Nile (Arabic: النيل الأبيضan nīl al 'abyaḍ) is a river of Africa, one of the two main tributaries of the Nile, the other being the Blue Nile.

  • Entebbe International Airport

    Entebbe International Airport (IATA: EBB, ICAO: HUEN) is the principal international airport of Uganda. It is near the town of Entebbe, on the shores of Lake Victoria, and about 41 km (25 mi), by road, southwest of the central business district of K…

  • Entebbe

    Entebbe is a major town in Central Uganda. Located on a Lake Victoria peninsula, approximately 37 kilometres (23 mi) southwest of the Ugandan capital Kampala, the town was once the seat of government for the Protectorate of Uganda, prior to Independ…

  • Lira

    Lira (plural lire) is the name of the currency of Turkey. It is also the local name of the currencies of Lebanon and Syria: as well as the former currency of Italy, Malta, San Marino and the Vatican City, all of which replaced it in 2002 with the eu…

  • Makerere University

    Makerere University Kampala (MUK) (/məˈkɜrərɪ/ mə-KAIR-uh-ree) is Uganda's largest and third-oldest institution of higher learning, first established as a technical school in 1922 (the oldest is Katigondo National Major Seminary in Masaka District, …

  • Rwenzori Mountains

    The Rwenzori Mountains, previously called the Ruwenzori Range (spelling changed c. 1980 to conform more closely with the local name "Rwenjura"), and sometimes the Mountains of the Moon, is a mountain range of eastern Equatorial Africa, located on th…

  • Bwindi Impenetrable National Park

    Bwindi Impenetrable National Park is located in southwestern Uganda in East Africa. The park is part of the Bwindi Impenetrable Forest, and is situated along the Democratic Republic of Congo border next to the Virunga National Park and on the edge o…

  • Geography of Uganda

    Uganda is located in Eastern Africa, west of Kenya, south of South Sudan and east of the Democratic Republic of the Congo. It is in the heart of the Great Lakes region, and is surrounded by three of them, Lake Edward, Lake Albert, and Lake Victoria.

  • Kagera River

    The Kagera River, also Akagera River, or Alexandra Nile, is an East African river, forming part of the upper headwaters of the Nile and carrying water from its most distant source.

  • Mount Elgon

    Mount Elgon is an extinct shield volcano on the border of Uganda and Kenya, north of Kisumu and west of Kitale. The mountain's highest point, named "Wagagai", is located entirely within the country of Uganda. At 4,321 m (14,177 ft), Elgon is the 17t…

  • Gulu

    Gulu is a city in Northern Uganda. It is the commercial and administrative centre of Gulu District. The corrdinates of Gulu Municipality are:2°46'54.0"N 32°17'57.0"E. The distance from Gulu to Kampala, Uganda's capital and largest city, is approxima…

  • Mbarara

    Mbarara is a town in Western Uganda. It is the main municipal, administrative and commercial center of Mbarara District and the location of the district headquarters.

  • Mount Stanley

    Mount Stanley is a mountain located in the Rwenzori range. With an elevation of 5,109 m (16,763 ft), it is the highest mountain of both the Democratic Republic of the Congo and Uganda, and the third highest in Africa, after Kilimanjaro (5,895 m) and…

  • Murchison Falls

    Murchison Falls, also known as Kabarega Falls, is a waterfall on the Nile. It breaks the Victoria Nile, which flows across northern Uganda from Lake Victoria to Lake Kyoga and then to the north end of Lake Albert in the western branch of the East Af…

  • Murchison Falls National Park

    Murchison Falls National Park is a national park in Uganda managed by Ugandan Wildlife Authority. The park lies in north western Uganda, spreading inland from the shore of Lake Albert around the Victoria Nile.

  • Mbale

    Mbale is a city in Eastern Uganda. It is the main municipal, administrative and commercial center of Mbale District and the surrounding sub-region.

  • July 2010 Kampala attacks

    The July 2010 Kampala attacks were suicide bombings carried out against crowds watching a screening of the 2010 FIFA World Cup Final match at two locations in Kampala, the capital city of Uganda, on 11 July 2010. The attacks left 74 dead and 70 inju…

  • Kabale

    Kabale is a city in Western Uganda. It is the 'chief town' of Kabale District and the district headquarters are located there.

  • Kasubi Tombs

    The Kasubi Tombs in Kampala, Uganda, is the site of the burial grounds for four kabakas (kings of Buganda), and a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

  • Kampala District

    Kampala District is a district in Uganda that is coterminous with the country's capital city, Kampala. The district is named after the city. The main language spoken is Luganda.