Articles in Seychelles ( 85 )

85 Articles of interest in Seychelles

Click on them to get its location and coordinates
  • Victoria, Seychelles

    Victoria (sometimes called Port Victoria) is the capital city of the Seychelles and is situated on the north-eastern side of Mahé island, the archipelago's main island. The city was first established as the seat of the British colonial government.

  • Mahé, Seychelles

    Mahé is the largest island (155 km²/59.8 sq. mi.) of the Seychelles, lying in the north east of the nation. The population of Mahé was 78,539, as of the 2010 census. It contains the capital city of Victoria and accommodates 86% of the country's tota…

  • Assumption Island

    Assumption Island is a small island located at (9°45′S46°29′E) in the Indian Ocean north of Madagascar and is part of the country of the Seychelles that have been leased to India.

  • La Digue

    La Digue is the third largest inhabited island of the Seychelles in terms of population, lying east of Praslin and west of Felicite Island. In terms of size it is the fourth largest granitic island of Seychelles after Mahé, Praslin and Silhouette Is…

  • Praslin

    Praslin is the second largest island (38 km²) of the Seychelles, lying 44 km (27 mi) northeast of Mahé. Praslin has a population of around 6,500 people and comprises two administrative districts: Baie Sainte Anne and Grand' Anse (Praslin). The main …

  • Geography of Seychelles

    The Seychelles is a small island nation located in the Indian Ocean northeast of Madagascar and about 1,600 km (994 mi) east of Kenya. Seychelles lies between approximately 4ºS and 10ºS and 46ºE and 54ºE. The nation is an archipelago of 155 tropical…

  • Silhouette Island

    Silhouette Island lies 20 km (12 mi) northwest of Mahé in the Seychelles. It is the third largest granitic island in the Seychelles. It has an area of 20 km2 and has a population of about 200, mostly workers on the island. The main settlement is La …

  • D'Arros Island

    D'Arros Island is part of the Amirante Islands group, which are in the Outer Islands (Coralline Seychelles) coral archipelago of the Seychelles islands and nation.

  • Outer Islands (Seychelles)

    The Outer Islands or Coralline Seychelles (archipelago) is a collective term for those islands of the Seychelles that are not on the shallow Seychelles Bank (Seychelles Plateau) which defines the location of the granitic Inner Islands archipelago to…

  • Moyenne Island

    Moyenne Island is a small island (0.089 km2 or 0.034 sq mi) in the Ste Anne Marine National Park off the north coast of Mahé, Seychelles. Since the 1970s it has been a flora and fauna reserve.

  • Bird Island, Seychelles

    Bird Island is the northernmost island in the Seychelles archipelago, 60 miles from Mahe. The 0.70 km² coral island is known for its birdlife, including sooty terns, fairy terns and common noddies, and for hawksbill and green turtles. It is now a pr…

  • Port of Victoria (Seychelles)

    Port of Victoria, is located in Seychelles, an archipelago in the Indian Ocean, northeast of Madagascar. Port-Victoria has no fixed handling equipment. Ships are handled through ship's gear by the private stevedores. Victoria (sometimes called Port …

  • Frégate Island

    Frégate Island or sometimes Frigate Island is a private island and is the easternmost (55 km (34 mi) east of Mahé) of the granitic Inner Islands of the Seychelles. It is only 2.19 square kilometres (0.85 sq mi) and is primarily known as a secluded, …

  • Vallée de Mai

    Vallée de Mai Nature Reserve ("May Valley") is a nature park and UNESCO World Heritage Site on the island of Praslin, Seychelles. It consists of a well-preserved palm forest, flagship species made up of the island endemic Coco de Mer, as well as fiv…

  • Anse Lazio

    Anse Lazio is a beach situated in the northwest of Praslin Island, Seychelles, considered by Lonely Planet to be the best beach on Praslin, and one of the best in the archipelago.

  • Farquhar Group

    The Farquhar Group belong to the Outer Islands of the Seychelles, lying in the southwest of the island nation, more than 700 km (430 mi) southwest of the capital, Victoria, on Mahé Island.

  • Aldabra Group

    The Aldabra Group are part of the Outer Islands of the Seychelles, lying in the southwest of the island nation, 1000 kilometres from the capital, Victoria, on Mahé Island.

  • North Island, Seychelles

    North Island is a small granitic island (2.01 km²) in the Seychelles, 5 km north of Silhouette Island. Since 2003, it has been developed as a private resort with 11 villas for guests, aimed at the eco-tourism market.

  • Takamaka, Seychelles

    Takamaka is one of the 22 administrative regions of Mahé, Republic of Seychelles. It is located on the southern part of the island of Mahé. (3 other districts cover the two other main islands of the Republic, Grand' Anse and Baie Sainte Anne on the …

  • Île Platte

    Île Platte or Platte Island is part of the Southern Coral Group of islands in the Seychelles that are part of the Outer Islands.

  • Praslin Island Airport

    Praslin Island Airport (IATA: PRI, ICAO: FSPP) also known as Iles des Palmes Airport, is an airport located at Grand Anse on Praslin Island in the Seychelles. The airport is currently only serviced by Air Seychelles, who fly scheduled flights to Mah…

  • Anse Boileau

    Anse Boileau is a quiet district on the south of the island of Mahé, in the Seychelles. Anse Boileau encapsulates the natural wonders of the Seychelles: it sits at the foot of a steep, very green mountain, it is on the shores of the Indian Ocean, an…