Articles in Papua New Guinea ( 332 )

332 Articles of interest in Papua New Guinea

Click on them to get its location and coordinates
  • Mount Hagen (volcano)

    Mount Hagen (German: Hagensberg), named after the German colonial officer Curt von Hagen (1859-1897), is the second highest volcano in Papua New Guinea and on the Australian continent, ranking behind only its neighbour Mount Giluwe which is roughly …

  • Lake Kutubu

    Lake Kutubu is a lake in the Southern Highlands Province of Papua New Guinea. It lies to the east of the Kikori River, into which it eventually drains. It is about 50 km southwest of Mendi, the provincial capital. It is one of the few lakes in the c…

  • Kiwai Island

    Kiwai Island is the largest island in the Fly River delta, Papua New Guinea. It is 59 km long along the northwest-southeast axis from Wamimuba Point in the northwest to the village of Saguane (Sanguane) in the south, and up to 9 km wide, with an ave…

  • Kaniet Islands

    The Kaniet Islands are the easternmost group islands within the Western Islands of the Bismarck Archipelago, Papua New Guinea. It consists four islands and one islet. Their coordinates are (0°56′S145°30′E), located northeast of the Hermit Islands. …

  • Gazelle Peninsula

    Gazelle Peninsula is a large peninsula in northeastern New Britain, Papua New Guinea, at (4.6°S 152°E). The peninsula was named by Georg Gustav Freiherr von Schleinitz after his ship SMS Gazelle.

  • Bougainville Strait

    Bougainville Strait separates Choiseul Island from Bougainville Island, the next to the northward. It was first passed through in 1768 by Louis Antoine de Bougainville, who christened it. A Lieutenant John Shortland of the Royal Navy sailed through …

  • Bismarck Range

    The Bismarck Range is a mountain range in the central highlands of Papua New Guinea. The range is named after the German Chancellor, Otto von Bismarck.

  • Battle of Porton Plantation

    The Battle of Porton Plantation (8–10 June 1945) took place at Porton Plantation, near the village of Soraken on Bougainville Island, in the Solomon Islands archipelago during World War II.

  • Wuvulu Island

    Wuvulu Island (also known as Mary Island, Matty, Maty Island, Tiger Island, Tiger-Inseln and Wuwulu) is part of the Western Islands of the Bismarck Archipelago in the western Pacific Ocean, part of Manus Province, Papua New Guinea. It is the western…

  • Tufi

    Tufi is a town located on the south eastern peninsula of Cape Nelson, Oro Province, Papua New Guinea. Tufi is located on a tropical fjord of Cape Nelson surrounded by many uncharted reefs.

  • Schouten Islands (Papua New Guinea)

    The Schouten Islands are a group of six small volcanic islands in the province of East Sepik in Papua New Guinea, north of the island of New Guinea. The group is also called Eastern Schouten Islands or Le Maire Islands to separate it from unrelated …

  • Sakar Island

    Sakar Island is a volcanic island northwest of New Britain in the Bismarck Sea, at (5.416667°S 148.1°E). It is a stratovolcano with a summit crater lake.

  • Pago (volcano)

    The volcano Pago is located East of Kimbe, West New Britain Province, Papua New Guinea. Pago is a young post-caldera cone within the Witori Caldera. The Buru Caldera cuts the SW flank of the Witori volcano.

  • Hubert Murray Stadium

    The Hubert Murray Stadium was a sports venue located in Port Moresby, the capital city of Papua New Guinea. It is used for playing football and is not particularly suited to any large events. It is more comparable to a regional sporting facility tha…

  • Hoskins Airport

    Hoskins Airport is an airport in Hoskins (on the island of New Britain) in Papua New Guinea. The airport serves Kimbe - the capital of West New Britain province.

  • Feni Islands

    Feni Islands is an island group in Papua New Guinea, located east of New Ireland, at (4.083333°S 153.7°E). It is a part of Bismarck Archipelago.

  • Empress Augusta Bay

    Empress Augusta Bay is a major bay on the western side of the island of Bougainville, in Papua New Guinea, at (6°25′S155°5′E). It is a major subsistence fishing area for the people of Bougainville.

  • Deboyne Islands

    The Deboyne Islands are an atoll, composed of a group of reefs and islands in the north of the Louisiade Archipelago, Papua New Guinea. They are located 13 km (8 mi) from Misima and 5 km (3 mi) from the Torlesse Islands.

  • Black Cat Track

    The Black Cat Track or Trail is a rough overland track in Morobe Province, Papua New Guinea. It runs from the village of Salamaua on the coast of the Huon Gulf, south into the mountains to the township of Wau.

  • Basilaki Island

    Basilaki Island is an island in the Louisiade Archipelago in Milne Bay Province, Papua New Guinea. It is located at the eastern end of the New Guinea mainland.

  • Ambitle

    Ambitle is a volcanic island which, together with Babase, another volcanic island, is one of the two Feni Islands in the Bismarck Archipelago.