Articles in Madagascar ( 1,266 )

1,266 Articles of interest in Madagascar

Click on them to get its location and coordinates
  • Madagascar

    Madagascar, officially the Republic of Madagascar (Malagasy: Repoblikan'i Madagasikara [republiˈkʲan madaɡasˈkʲarə̥]; French: République de Madagascar) and previously known as the Malagasy Republic, is an island country in the Indian Ocean, off the …

  • Antananarivo

    Antananarivo (/ˌæntəˌnænəˈrv/ or /ˌɑːntəˌnɑːnəˈrv/; Malagasy pronunciation: [antananaˈrivʷ]), formerly French Tananarive (/təˌnænəˈrv/ or /ˌtænənəˈrv/; French pronunciation: ​[tananaʁiv]), also known by its French colonial shorthand form…

  • Geography of Madagascar

    Madagascar is an island in the Indian Ocean off the eastern coast of southern Africa, east of Mozambique. It is the fourth largest island in the world. The highest point is Maromokotro, in the Tsaratanana Massif region in the north of the island, at…

  • Battle of Madagascar

    The Battle of Madagascar was the British campaign to capture Vichy French-controlled Madagascar during World War II. It began with Operation Ironclad, the seizure of the port of Diego Suarez near the northern tip of the island, on 5 May 1942. A subs…

  • Île Sainte-Marie

    Île Sainte-Marie, known (more formally) as Nosy Boraha [ˈnuʃ buˈrahə̥], is an island, physically off the east coast of Madagascar, and is integral to it. The main town is Ambodifotatra.

  • Rova of Antananarivo

    The Rova of Antananarivo /ˈrvə/ (Malagasy: Rovan'i Manjakamiadana [ˈruvən manˌdzakəmiˈadə̥nə]) is a royal palace complex (rova) in Madagascar that served as the home of the sovereigns of the Kingdom of Imerina in the 17th and 18th centuries, as we…

  • Toamasina

    Toamasina [toˈmasinə̥], meaning "like salt" or "salty", unofficially and in French also Tamatave, is the capital of the Atsinanana region on the east coast of Madagascar on the Indian Ocean. The city is the chief seaport of the country, situated 215…

  • Nosy Be

    Nosy Be [ˌnusʲ ˈbe] (also Nossi-bé and Nosse Be) is an island off the northwest coast of Madagascar. Nosy Be is Madagascar's largest and busiest tourist resort.

  • Antsiranana

    Antsiranana (Malagasy: Antsiran̈ana Malagasy pronunciation: [antsʲˈraŋanə̥]), named Diego-Suarez prior to 1975, is a city in the far north of Madagascar.

  • Madagascar dry deciduous forests

    The Madagascar dry deciduous forests represent a tropical dry forest ecoregion generally situated in the western part of Madagascar. The area has high numbers of endemic plant and animal species but has suffered large-scale clearance for agriculture…

  • Antsirabe

    Antsirabe (Malagasy pronunciation: [anˌtsiraˈbe]) is the third largest city in Madagascar and the capital of the Vakinankaratra region, with a population of over 180,000. In Madagascar, Antsirabe is known for its relatively cool climate (as the rest…

  • Tôlanaro

    Tôlanaro or Tolagnaro (Malagasy: Tôlan̈aro [tolaˈŋarʷ]) is a city (commune urbaine) on the southeast coast of Madagascar. It is the capital of the Anosy Region and of the Tôlanaro District. It has been a port of local importance since the early 1500…

  • Ranomafana National Park

    Ranomafana National Park is located in the southeastern part of Madagascar in Haute Matsiatra and Vatovavy-Fitovinany. With more than 41,600 hectares (161 square miles) of tropical rainforest, the park is home to several rare species of flora and fa…

  • Savana

    Savana is a town and commune in Madagascar. It belongs to the district of Vohipeno, which is a part of Vatovavy-Fitovinany Region.

  • Antananarivo Province

    Antananarivo Province is a former province of Madagascar with an area of 58,283 square kilometres (22,503 sq mi). It had a population of 5,370,900 in 2004. Its capital was Antananarivo, which is also the capital of the country. Established in 1965, …

  • Fascene Airport

    Fascene Airport (IATA: NOS, ICAO: FMNN) is an international airport located on the island of Nosy Be, just off the northwest coast of Madagascar, in the Diana region.

  • Toliara Province

    The Toliara Province (formerly Toliary or Tuléar) is a former province of Madagascar with an area of 161,405 square kilometres (62,319 sq mi). It had a population of 2,229,550 (July, 2001). Its capital was Toliara.

  • Gogogogo

    Gogogogo is a town and commune (Malagasy: kaominina) in southwestern Madagascar. It belongs to the district of Ampanihy, which is a part of Atsimo-Andrefana Region.

  • Toamasina Province

    The Toamasina Province is a former province of Madagascar with an area of 71,911 km². It had a population of 2,855,600 (2004). Its capital was Toamasina, the most important seaport of the country.

  • Sambava

    Sambava [samˈbav] is a city and commune (commune urbaine; Malagasy: kaominina) at the east coast of northern Madagascar. It is the capital of Sambava District and Sava Region.

  • Nosy Mangabe

    Nosy Mangabe is a small island reserve located in Antongil Bay about 2 km offshore from the town of Maroantsetra in eastern Madagascar. 520ha in size, it is accessible by small boat and is part of the larger Masoala National Park complex. It is a tr…

  • Lake Alaotra

    Lake Alaotra (French: Lac Alaotra) is the largest lake in Madagascar, located in Toamasina Province, in the northern central plateau. Its basin is composed of shallow freshwater lakes and marshes surrounded by areas of dense vegetation. It forms the…

  • Ilakaka

    Ilakaka is a small town in Ihorombe Region in the south western part of Madagascar. In the early 1990s there were only about 40 residents in the area.

  • Fianarantsoa Province

    Fianarantsoa Province is a former province of Madagascar. It has an area of 103,272 km2 and population of 3,366,291 (July, 2001 estimate). Its capital was Fianarantsoa.

  • Westminster School, Adelaide

    Westminster School is an independent, Uniting Church, Early Learning to Year 12, coeducational, day and boarding school located at Marion, South Australia, 12 km south of Adelaide. Founded as a Methodist day and boarding school for boys, the school …