Articles in Lesotho ( 65 )

65 Articles of interest in Lesotho

Click on them to get its location and coordinates
  • Lesotho

    Lesotho (/lɨˈst/ li-SOO-too), officially the Kingdom of Lesotho, is an enclaved landlocked country completely surrounded by South Africa. It is just over 30,000 km2 (11,583 sq mi) in size and has a population slightly over two million. Its capit…

  • Maseru

    Maseru is the capital and largest city of Lesotho. It is also the capital of the Maseru District. Located on the Caledon River, Maseru lies directly on the Lesotho-South Africa border. Maseru is Lesotho's capital city with a population of approximat…

  • Afriski

    AfriSki is the only skiing resort in Lesotho, located 3050m above sea-level (just below Mahlasela Pass, 3222m) in the Maluti Mountains, operating in Southern Africa near the northern border of Lesotho and South Africa. It is one of only two ski reso…

  • Geography of Lesotho

    Lesotho is a mountainous, landlocked country located in Southern Africa. It is an enclave, surrounded by South Africa. The total length of the country's borders is 909 kilometres (565 mi).

  • Katse Dam

    The Katse Dam, a concrete arch dam on the Malibamat'so River in Lesotho, is Africa's second largest dam. (The Tekezé Dam, completed in early 2009, is now Africa's largest double curvature dam).

  • National University of Lesotho

    The National University of Lesotho is in Roma some 34 kilometers southeast of Maseru, the capital of Lesotho. The Roma valley is broad and is surrounded by a barrier of rugged mountains which provides magnificent scenery. The university enjoys a tem…

  • Thabana Ntlenyana

    Thabana Ntlenyana, which literally means "Beautiful little mountain" in Sesotho, is the highest point in Lesotho and the highest mountain in southern Africa. It is situated on the Mohlesi ridge of the Drakensberg/Maloti mountains, north of Sani Pass.

  • Mafadi

    Mafadi (Afrikaans: Mafadipiek) is a peak on the border of South Africa and Lesotho. At a height of 3,450 metres (11,320 ft), it is the highest mountain in South Africa, but is lower than Thabana Ntlenyana, the highest peak in Lesotho which is, at 3,…

  • Maloti Mountains

    The Maloti Mountains, also spelled Maluti (Afrikaans: Malutiberge), are a mountain range of the highlands of the Kingdom of Lesotho. They extend for about 100 km into the Free State.

  • Qacha's Nek

    Qacha's Nek is, since 1888, the camptown (capital) of Qacha's Nek District in Lesotho, only two kilometers from the South African border at 1 980 meter above sea level. It has a population of approximately 8 000 (2004).

  • Maseru District

    Maseru is a district of Lesotho. It has an area of 4,279 km² and a population in 2006 of approximately 429,823. Maseru is also the name of the district's capital, and is the only city in the district. Additionally it is the capital of the country. I…

  • Maletsunyane Falls

    Maletsunyane Falls is a 192-metre-high (630 ft) waterfall in the Southern African country Lesotho. It is located near the town of Semonkong (Site of smoke), which also is named after the falls.

  • Mohale Dam

    Mohale Dam is a rock-fill dam in Lesotho. It is part of the Lesotho Highlands Water Project, which will eventually include 5 large dams in remote rural areas of Lesotho and South Africa. The potential of the project was identified by the South Afric…

  • Berea District

    Berea is a district of Lesotho. It has an area of 2,222 km² and a population in 2006 of approximately 256,496. Teyateyaneng is the capital of the district. It is also home to the Kome Cave Dwellings. It is also the only district in Lesotho which is …

  • Leribe District

    Leribè is a district of Lesotho. It has an area of 2,828 km² and a population in 2006 of approximately 298,352. Hlotse is the capital or camptown of the district.

  • Butha-Buthe

    Butha-Buthe (also Buta-Buthe) is the capital city or camptown of the Butha-Buthe District in Lesotho. It has a population of approximately 10,000 (2004). It is named for Butha-Buthe Mountain to the north of the town, which King Moshoeshoe I used as …

  • Roma, Lesotho

    Roma is a settlement under the Manonyane Community Council in the Maseru District of Lesotho, some 34 kilometers southeast of Maseru, the capital of Lesotho. The Roma valley is broad and fertile, and is surrounded by sandstone cliffs topped to the E…

  • Mokhotlong District

    Mokhotlong district (in Sesotho language The Place of the Bald Ibis) is a district of Lesotho. It includes the highest terrain in the Maloti Range and the source of the Senqu River, Lesotho’s primary watershed. It has an area of 4,075 km² and a popu…

  • Teyateyaneng

    Teyateyaneng is a town located in the district of Berea in Lesotho. Usually abbreviated to T.Y., Teya-Teyaneng means 'place of quick sands'. Teyateyaneng is also the camptown for the district of Berea.

  • Quthing District

    Quthing is a district of Lesotho. It has an area of 2,916 km² and a population in 2006 of approximately 120,502. Moyeni, is the camp town or capital of the district. Moyeni means "the place of the wind." There are two of the most important sets of d…

  • Morija

    Morija is a town in western Lesotho, located 35 kilometres south of the capital, Maseru. Morija is one of Lesotho’s most important historical and cultural sites, known as the Selibeng sa Thut — the Well-Spring of Learning.

  • Hlotse

    Hlotse (also Leribe) is an important market town in Lesotho. It is situated on the Hlotse River, near the South African border. The town was founded in 1876 by a British missionary, Reverend John Widdicombe. It was a colonial center until Lesotho ga…