Articles in Faroe Islands ( 151 )

151 Articles of interest in Faroe Islands

Click on them to get its location and coordinates
  • Faroe Islands

    The Faroe Islands (/ˈfɛər/; Faroese: Føroyar pronounced [ˈfœɹjaɹ]; Danish: Færøerne, pronounced [ˈfæɐ̯øːˀɐnə]; Norwegian Bokmål: Færøyene) are an archipelago between the Norwegian Sea and the North Atlantic Ocean, approximately halfway between Nor…

  • Tórshavn

    Tórshavn (IPA: [ˈtʰɔuʂhaun]; Danish: Thorshavn) is the capital and largest city of the Faroe Islands, a country situated between Scotland and Iceland. Tórshavn is located in the southern part on the east coast of Streymoy. To the northwest of the ci…

  • Vágar Airport

    Vágar Airport (Faroese: Vága Floghavn, Danish: Vágar Lufthavn) (IATA: FAE, ICAO: EKVG) is the only airport in the Faroe Islands, a self-governing territory of the Kingdom of Denmark, and is located 1 NM (1.9 km; 1.2 mi) east of Sørvágur. Due to the …

  • Sørvágsvatn

    Leitisvatn/Sørvágsvatn is the largest lake in the Faroe Islands. It is situated on the island of Vágar between the municipalities of Sørvágs Kommuna and Vága kommuna.

  • Tórsvøllur

    Tórsvøllur is a football stadium on the sport site Gundadalur in Tórshavn, Faroe Islands. The stadium holds 6,040 people and was built in 1999 to become the country's national stadium and provide a grass surface in the capital Tórshavn on which inte…

  • Geography of the Faroe Islands

    The Faroe Islands are an island group consisting of eighteen islands off the coast of Northern Europe, between the Norwegian Sea and the North Atlantic, about half-way between Iceland and Norway. Its coordinates are (62°N7°W). It is 1,393 square ki…

  • Tinganes

    Tinganes is the historic location of the Faroese landsstýri (government), and is a part of Tórshavn. The name means "parliament jetty" or "parliament point" in Faroese.

  • Gásadalur

    Gásadalur is located on the west-side of Vágar, Faroe Islands, and enjoys a panoramic view over the island of Mykines.

  • Tórshavn Cathedral

    Tórshavn Cathedral (in Faroese: Havnar Kirkja, or Dómkirkjan) is the second oldest received church of the Faroe Islands, on Tinganes in the old town of Tórshavn. Painted white, and roofed with slate, it was established in 1788. The cathedral church …

  • Hvalba

    Hvalba (Danish: Hvalbø) is a village and a municipality, which consists of Hvalba, Nes-Hvalba and Sandvík.

  • University of the Faroe Islands

    The University of the Faroe Islands (Faroese: Fróðskaparsetur Føroya) is a state-run university located in Tórshavn, the capital of the Faroe Islands. It consists of two faculties: the Faculty of Humanities, Social Sciences and Education and the Fac…

  • Kirkjubøur

    Kirkjubøur is the southernmost village on Streymoy, Faroe Islands and the country's most important historical site with the ruins of the Magnus Cathedral from around 1300, the Saint Olav's Church from 12th century and the old farmhouse Kirkjubøargar…

  • Gjógv

    Gjógv (pronounced [dʒɛɡv], literally: gorge, geo) is a village located on the northeast tip of the island of Eysturoy, in the Faroe Islands and 63 km (39 mi) north by road from the capital of Tórshavn.

  • Risin og Kellingin

    Risin og Kellingin (Risin and Kellingin) are two sea stacks just off the northern coast of the island of Eysturoy in the Faroe Islands close to the town of Eiði. The name Risin og Kellingin means The Giant and the Witch (or Hag) and relates to an ol…

  • Gundadalur

    Gundadalur is the name of an area in Tórshavn, Faroe Islands. It is home to three different football pitches and other sports facilities.

  • Eiði

    Eiði [[ˈaiːjɪ] ( listen)] (local pronunciation: [IPA: [ˈɔiːjɪ]]) (Danish: Ejde) is a large village located on the north-west tip of Eysturoy, Faroe Islands.

  • Magnus Cathedral

    Magnus Cathedral is a ruined cathedral in the village of Kirkjubøur on the island of Streymoy in the Faroe Islands. It was built by Bishop Erlendur about the year 1300, but the building was never completed. The cathedral is in an unfinished state to…

  • Kvívík

    Kvívík (Danish: Kvivig, older Qvivig) is a village on the west coast of Streymoy in the Faroe Islands, in the eponymous municipality of Kvívík.

  • Hestur

    Hestur (Danish: Hestø) is an island in the central Faroe Islands, to the west of Streymoy and the south of Koltur.

  • Sandavágur

    Sandavágur is a town on the south coast of the Faroese island of Vágar, and has been voted the most well-kept village in the Faroes twice.

  • Leirvík

    Leirvík (Danish: Lervig) is a town on the Faroe Islands and was an important regional ferry harbour at the east coast of the second largest island Eysturoy.

  • Kollafjørður

    Kollafjørður (Danish: Kollefjord) is a village in the Faroe Islands, located on the island of Streymoy. As of 2012, the village has a population of 793. Its postal code is FO 410. Until 2001 it was a municipality in its own right but is now part of …

  • Bøur

    Bøur is a village in the Sørvágs Kommuna of the Faroe Islands, 4 km west of Sørvágur, with a population of 75 (2012).

  • Viðareiði

    Viðareiði (pronounced [ˈviːjaɹaijɪ], literally: Wood-Isthmus, Danish: Viderejde) is the northernmost settlement in the Faroe Islands and lies on the Island of Viðoy, which belongs to the Norðoyar Region.