Articles in Spain ( 8,583 )

8,583 Articles of interest in Spain

Click on them to get its location and coordinates
  • Santiago de Compostela Airport

    Santiago de Compostela Airport (Galician: Aeroporto Internacional de Santiago de Compostela, Spanish: Aeropuerto Internacional de Santiago de Compostela) (IATA: SCQ, ICAO: LEST) is an international airport serving the historic nation and autonomous …

  • Playa Blanca

    Playa Blanca, meaning "White Beach" is the southernmost town of the Spanish island of Lanzarote. It is the newest resort on the island.

  • Perejil Island

    Perejil Island (Berber: Tura, Arabic: جزيرة تورة Jazīrat Tūra‎, Spanish: Isla de Perejil) is a small, uninhabited rocky islet located in the southern shore of the Strait of Gibraltar, 200 metres from the Moroccan coast. Its sovereignty is disputed b…

  • Plaza de España (Madrid)

    Plaza de España (Spanish for Square of Spain) is a large square, and popular tourist destination, located in central Madrid, Spain, at the western end of the Gran Vía. It features a monument to Miguel de Cervantes Saavedra, and is bordered by two of…

  • Ourense

    Ourense (Spanish pronunciation: [ouˈrense]; Galician pronunciation: [owˈɾɛnse]) is a city in northwestern Spain, the capital of the province of the same name in Galicia.

  • Atapuerca Mountains

    The Atapuerca Mountains (Sierra de Atapuerca in Spanish) is an ancient karstic region of Spain, in the province of Burgos, Castile and Leon and near Atapuerca and Ibeas de Juarros. It contains several caves, where fossils and stone tools of the earl…

  • Mijas

    Mijas is a town and municipality in the Province of Málaga, in the autonomous community of Andalusia. Located on the South-Eastern coast of Spain, Mijas belongs to the region of Costa del Sol Occidental.

  • Battle of Corunna

    The Battle of Corunna (or A Coruña, La Corunna, La Coruña, Elviña or La Corogne) took place on 16 January 1809, when a French corps under Marshal of the Empire Nicolas Jean de Dieu Soult attacked a British army under Lieutenant-General Sir John Moor…

  • Bank of Spain

    The Bank of Spain (Spanish: Banco de España), is the national central bank of Spain. Established in Madrid in 1782 by Charles III, today the bank is a member of the European System of Central Banks. It is also the national supervisor of the Spanish …

  • Álava

    Álava (IPA: [ˈalaβa] in Spanish) or Araba (IPA: [aˈɾaba] in Basque), officially Araba/Álava, is a province of Spain and a historical territory of the Basque Country, heir of the ancient Lord of Álava. Its capital city is Vitoria-Gasteiz which is als…

  • University of Seville

    The University of Seville (Universidad de Sevilla) is a university in Seville, Spain. Founded under the name of Colegio Santa María de Jesús in 1505, it has a present student body of over 65,000, and is one of the top-ranked universities in the coun…

  • Villarreal

    Villarreal (Spanish: [ˈbiʎareˈal]), officially Vila-real (Valencian: [ˈvila reˈaɫ]), is a city in the province of Castelló, in the Valencian Community, Spain.

  • Soria

    Soria (Spanish pronunciation: [ˈsoɾja]) is a city in north-central Spain, the capital of the province of Soria in the autonomous community of Castile and León. In 2010 the municipality has a population of c. 39,500 inhabitants, nearly 40% of the pop…

  • Priorat (DOQ)

    Priorat is a Catalan Denominació d'Origen Qualificada (DOQ) in Catalan for wines produced in the Priorat county to the south-west of Catalonia

  • Palau Güell

    The Palau Güell (Catalan pronunciation: [pəˈɫaw ˈɣweʎ], English: Güell Palace) is a mansion designed by the architect Antoni Gaudí for the industrial tycoon Eusebi Güell, and built between 1886 and 1888. It is situated in the Carrer Nou de la Rambla…

  • Mini Estadi

    Mini Estadi (Catalan pronunciation: [ˈmini əsˈtaði], meaning in English "Mini Stadium") is a football stadium located in Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain.

  • Valencia Street Circuit

    The Valencia Street Circuit (Valencian: Circuit Urbà de València, Spanish: Circuito Urbano de Valencia) was a street circuit in Valencia, Spain which hosted the Formula One European Grand Prix for five years (2008–2012). The first race meeting on th…

  • San Pablo Airport

    Seville Airport (Spanish: Aeropuerto de Sevilla) (IATA: SVQ, ICAO: LEZL) is the international airport serving Seville in southern Spain, and other neighbouring provinces.

  • Morón Air Base

    Morón Air Base (IATA: OZP, ICAO: LEMO) is located at (37°10′N5°36′W) in southern Spain, approximately 35 miles (56 km) southeast of the city of Seville and 75 miles (121 km) northeast of Naval Station Rota.

  • Torre del Oro

    The Torre del Oro (English: "Gold Tower") is a dodecagonal military watchtower in Seville, southern Spain, built by the Almohad dynasty in order to control access to Seville via the Guadalquivir river.

  • Puerto de la Cruz

    Puerto de la Cruz is a city and municipality in the northern part of Tenerife island, Canary Islands, Spain. It was formerly known by its English translation, "Port of the Cross", although nowadays it is usually known in all languages by its Spanish…

  • Polytechnic University of Catalonia

    Polytechnic University of Catalonia (Catalan: Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya, UPC; IPA: [uniβərsiˈtat puɫiˈtɛŋnikə ðə kətəˈɫuɲə]), currently referred to as BarcelonaTECH and commonly named just as UPC, is the largest engineering university in …

  • Països Catalans

    The term Catalan Countries (Catalan: Països Catalans, Eastern Catalan: [pəˈizus kətəˈɫans], Western Catalan: [paˈizos kataˈlans]; Spanish: Países Catalanes; French: Pays catalans) is a direct translation into English of the Catalan term Països Catal…

  • Passeig de Gràcia, Barcelona

    Passeig de Gràcia (Catalan pronunciation: [pəˈsɛdʒ də ˈɣɾasiə]) is one of the major avenues in Barcelona (Catalonia) and one of its most important shopping and business areas, containing several of the city's most celebrated pieces of architecture.

  • Cantabrian Mountains

    The Cantabrian Mountains or Cantabrian Range (Spanish: Cordillera Cantábrica) are one of the main systems of mountain ranges in Spain. They stretch for over 300 km (180 miles) across northern Spain, from the western limit of the Pyrenees to the Gali…

  • Bridge Pavilion

    The Bridge Pavilion (Spanish: Pabellón Puente) is a building designed by British-Iraqi architect Zaha Hadid that was constructed for the Expo 2008 in Zaragoza (Spain) as one of its main landmarks. It is an innovative 280-metre-long (919 ft) covered …

  • Albayzín

    El Albayzín (also Albaicín, Spanish pronunciation: [alβai̯ˈθin]) is a district of Granada, in the autonomous community of Andalusia, Spain, that retains the narrow winding streets of its Medieval Moorish past.

  • Getafe

    Getafe (Spanish pronunciation: [xe'tafe]) is a city in the south of the Madrid metropolitan area, Spain, and one of the most populated and industrialised cities in the area. It is home to one of the oldest Spanish military air bases and the Universi…

  • Valencia Cathedral

    The Metropolitan Cathedral–Basilica of the Assumption of Our Lady of Valencia (Spanish: Iglesia Catedral-Basílica Metropolitana de la Asunción de Nuestra Señora de Valencia, Valencian: Església Catedral-Basílica Metropolitana de l'Assumpció de la No…