Articles in Ecuador ( 287 )

287 Articles of interest in Ecuador

Click on them to get its location and coordinates
  • Esmeraldas River

    The Esmeraldas River is a river in northwestern Ecuador that flows into the Pacific Ocean at the city of Esmeraldas. Among its tributaries is the Guayllabamba River which drains Quito.

  • Corazón (volcano)

    Corazón (Spanish: "heart") is an inactive eroded stratovolcano of Ecuador, situated about 30 km southwest of Quito in the western slopes of the Andes.

  • Chone, Ecuador

    Chone is a town in the province of Manabi in Ecuador. Officially, La Real Santisíma Villa Rica de la Bendita Providencia de San Cayetano de Chone de esta nuestra Nueva Castilla in reference to Saint Cajetan and The City of Kings, called Pueblo Viejo…

  • Action of San Mateo Bay

    The Action of San Mateo Bay was a naval engagement which took place from 24 June to 1 July 1594 between the discovery ship Dainty under the command of English privateer Richard Hawkins and a Spanish squadron of three galleons commanded by Beltrán de…

  • Zamora River

    The Zamora River (Spanish: Río Zamora) is a tributary of the Santiago River located in the south-east of Ecuador. Historically, it was known to the Spanish as Yaya Mayu ("Father River"[verification needed]), from the river's name among a group of Sh…

  • Santa Cruz Canton, Ecuador

    Santa Cruz is a canton in the Ecuadorian province of the Galápagos. Its area covers the islands of Baltra, Bartolomé, Marchena, North Seymour, Pinta, Pinzón, Rábida, Santa Cruz, and Santiago.

  • Piñas Canton

    Piñas is a canton in the El Oro Province, Ecuador. Its seat is Piñas. It is also known as the "Orchid of The Andes" because of the many orchids grown nearby. The town was named Piñas by Juan de Loayza, in honor of his homeland Piñas in Spain.

  • Muisne

    Muisne is a coastal town in the southwest of the province of Esmeraldas in northwestern Ecuador, with 5,925 inhabitants in the last Ecuadorian census in 2010. It is the seat of the namesake canton.

  • Cotacachi Volcano

    Cotacachi is a dormant volcano in the Western Cordillera of the northern Ecuadorian Andes, in the west of Imbabura Province, above the city of Cotacachi.

  • Cordillera del Cóndor

    The Cordillera del Cóndor (Condor mountain range) is a mountain range in the eastern Andes that is shared by and part of the international border between Ecuador and Peru.

  • Atacazo

    Atacazo is a volcano of the Western Cordillera, southwest of Quito, Ecuador. It lies 25 kilometers south-west of Quito. Southwest of Atacazo is another volcano known as Ninahuilca. The Atacazo is a stratovolcano.It was formed by the action of a Late…

  • Academia Cotopaxi

    Academia Cotopaxi (Academia Cotopaxi American International School) is a co-educational non-profit school in Quito, Ecuador, created in 1959 by a group of American mothers. Alice Conger was the first director of the school. This school maintains a m…

  • 1987 Ecuador earthquakes

    The 1987 Ecuador earthquakes occurred over a six-hour period on March 6. The sequence of shocks measured 6.7 and 7.1 and 6.0 on the moment magnitude scale. The mainshock had a maximum Mercalli Intensity of IX (Violent). The earthquakes were centered…

  • University of Cuenca

    University of Cuenca (Spanish: Universidad de Cuenca) is an Ecuadorian university located in Cuenca. University of Cuenca is the principal university of Azuay Province.

  • San Antonio de Pichincha

    San Antonio de Pichincha, or simply San Antonio and less frequently by the older name San Antonio de Lulumpamba (alternate spelling: Lulumbamba), is a rural parish of Quito Canton, Pichincha Province, Ecuador. The seat of the parish lies in an arid …

  • Pululagua

    Pululagua (alternate spelling: Pululahua) is a dormant volcano in the north of Quito Canton, Pichincha Province, Ecuador. The volcano is in the Western Cordillera of the northern Ecuadorian Andes, approximately west-southwest of Mojanda and north of…

  • Pedro Carbo

    Pedro Carbo is a town located in the coastal Guayas, Ecuador, near Manabí province. It is located at the 63 kilometer marker on the road from Guayaquil to Manabí. It is the seat of Pedro Carbo Cantón, founded in 1984. As of the census of 2001, there…