Articles in Costa Rica ( 171 )

171 Articles of interest in Costa Rica

Click on them to get its location and coordinates
  • Cocos Island

    Cocos Island (Spanish: Isla del Coco) is an island designated as a National Park off the shore of Costa Rica, that does not allow inhabitants other than Costa Rican Park Rangers. It constitutes the 11th of the 13 districts of Puntarenas Canton of th…

  • Arenal Volcano

    Arenal Volcano, in Spanish Volcán Arenal, is an active andesitic stratovolcano in north-western Costa Rica around 90 km northwest of San José, in the province of Alajuela, canton of San Carlos, and district of La Fortuna. The Arenal volcano measures…

  • Turrialba Volcano

    Turrialba Volcano is named after its canton, Turrialba, in Costa Rica's Cartago Province. There is no clear consensus on the origin of the name Turrialba, but historians disagree with attempts to attribute the name to the patronym Torrealba (from Ar…

  • Juan Santamaría International Airport

    Juan Santamaría International Airport (Spanish: Aeropuerto Internacional Juan Santamaría) (IATA: SJO, ICAO: MROC) is the primary airport serving San José, the capital of Costa Rica. The airport is located near the city of Alajuela, 20 km (12 miles) …

  • Liberia, Costa Rica

    Liberia is the capital and largest city of Guanacaste province, Costa Rica, located 215 kilometres (134 mi) northwest of the national capital, San José in the canton with the same name.

  • Manuel Antonio National Park

    Manuel Antonio National Park, in Spanish the Parque Nacional Manuel Antonio, is a small National Park in the Central Pacific Conservation Area located on the Pacific coast of Costa Rica, just south of the city of Quepos, Puntarenas, and 132 km (82 m…

  • Alajuela

    Alajuela (Spanish pronunciation: [alaˈxwela]) is the third-largest city in Costa Rica after the capital, San José, and Puerto Limón.

  • Daniel Oduber Quirós International Airport

    Daniel Oduber Quirós International Airport (Spanish: Aeropuerto Internacional Daniel Oduber Quirós) (IATA: LIR, ICAO: MRLB), also known as Liberia International Airport, is one of four international airports in Costa Rica. The airport is located in …

  • Puntarenas

    Puntarenas (Pointsands, from "punta arenas", or "sand point" in Spanish) is the capital and largest city in the Province of Puntarenas, on the Pacific coast of Costa Rica.

  • Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve

    The Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve (Reserva Biológica Bosque Nuboso Monteverde) is a Costa Rican reserve located along the Cordillera de Tilarán within the Puntarenas and Alajuela provinces. Named after the nearby town of Monteverde and founded in …

  • Jacó, Costa Rica

    Jacó is a resort city on the Pacific Coast of Costa Rica in Central America. Located in the county of Garabito in the Puntarenas province. The city has a population of approximately 10,000 residents.

  • Puntarenas Province

    Puntarenas is a province of Costa Rica. It is located in the western part of the country, covering most of Costa Rica's Pacific Ocean coast, and it is the largest province in Costa Rica.

  • Nicoya Peninsula

    The Nicoya Peninsula (Spanish: Península de Nicoya) is a peninsula on the Pacific coast of Costa Rica. It is divided into two provinces: Guanacaste Province in the north, and the Puntarenas Province in the south. It is located at (10°N 85.4166667°W)…

  • Estadio Nacional de Costa Rica (2011)

    The National Stadium of Costa Rica (Spanish: Estadio Nacional de Costa Rica) is a multi-purpose stadium in La Sabana Metropolitan Park, San José, Costa Rica. It is the first modern sport and event arena to be built in Central America. The stadium wa…

  • Montezuma, Costa Rica

    Montezuma is a town in Puntarenas Province, Costa Rica which began as a remote fishing village and has gained popularity since the 1980s among tourists on a budget.

  • Museo Nacional de Costa Rica

    The Museo Nacional de Costa Rica is the national museum of Costa Rica, located in the capital of San José. It is located at Calle 17, between Central and Second Avenue, Cuesta de Moras, in the Bellavista Fortress, a crenallated, ochre colored buildi…

  • Nosara

    Nosara is a village and district in the Nicoya canton, Guanacaste province of Costa Rica on the Pacific Coast.

  • Atenas

    Atenas (ah-TEN-nahss) is the capital city of the canton of Atenas in the province of Alajuela in Costa Rica.

  • Osa Peninsula

    The Osa Peninsula (Spanish: Península de Osa) is a peninsula located in southwestern Costa Rica, in the Puntarenas Province, with the Pacific Ocean to the west and the Golfo Dulce to the east.

  • Tortuguero, Costa Rica

    Tortuguero, Costa Rica, which can be translated as Land of Turtles, is a village on the Northern Caribbean coast of Costa Rica in the Limón Province. It gave its name to the neighboring Tortuguero National Park. The village is situated on a sand bar…

  • Estadio Ricardo Saprissa Aymá

    Estadio Ricardo Saprissa Aymá is a major sports stadium located in San Juan de Tibás, San José, Costa Rica. It has a seating capacity of 23,112 and it is second highest capacity stadium in the country. The stadium is the home of Deportivo Saprissa, …

  • Tobías Bolaños International Airport

    Tobías Bolaños International Airport (Spanish: Aeropuerto Internacional Tobías Bolaños) (IATA: SYQ, ICAO: MRPV) is one of the four international airports in Costa Rica and the secondary airport serving the city capital of San José after Juan Santama…

  • Boruca people

    The Boruca (also known as the Brunca or the Brunka) are an indigenous people living in Costa Rica. The tribe has about 2,660 members, most of whom live on a reservation in the Puntarenas Province in southwestern Costa Rica, a few miles away from the…

  • National University of Costa Rica

    The National University of Costa Rica (in Spanish, Universidad Nacional de Costa Rica, abbreviated UNA) is a public university in the Republic of Costa Rica, in Central America. The main campus is located in the city of Heredia. It is one of five pu…