Articles in Antarctica ( 3,853 )

3,853 Articles of interest in Antarctica

Click on them to get its location and coordinates
  • English Coast

    English Coast is that portion of the coast of Antarctica between the northern tip of Rydberg Peninsula and the Buttress Nunataks, on the west side of Palmer Land. To the west is Bryan Coast, and northward runs Rymill Coast east of Alexander Island a…

  • Elephant Rocks

    The Elephant Rocks in Antarctica are a group of three prominent rocks connected by shoals, located between Torgersen Island and the north-west entrance to Arthur Harbour, off the south-west coast of Anvers Island.

  • Detaille Island

    Detaille Island is a small island off the northern end of the Arrowsmith Peninsula in Graham Land, Antarctica. From 1956 to 1959 it was home to "Base W" of the British Antarctic Survey and closed after the end of the International Geophysical Year (…

  • Danco Coast

    The Danco Coast (64°42′S62°0′W) is that portion of the west coast of the Antarctic Peninsula between Cape Sterneck and Cape Renard.

  • Cecilia Island

    Cecilia Island is the ice-free southernmost island of the Aitcho group on the west side of English Strait in the South Shetland Islands, Antarctica. Extending 910 by 450 m (1,000 by 490 yd), surface area 36 hectares (89 acres).

  • Castle Rock (Antarctica)

    Castle Rock (77°48′S166°46′E) is a bold rock crag, 415 metres (1,360 ft) high, standing 3 miles (5 km) northeast of Hut Point on the central ridge of Hut Point Peninsula, Ross Island.

  • Cape Scott

    Cape Scott is a cape at the western side of the terminus of Dennistoun Glacier on the northern coast of Victoria Land in Antarctica. Discovered by Captain James Ross, 1841, who named it for Peter A.

  • Camp Academia

    Camp Academia (Lager Akademiya \'la-ger a-ka-'de-mi-ya\) is a geographical locality in eastern Livingston Island, South Shetland Islands, Antarctica, named for the Bulgarian Academy of Sciences in appreciation of Academy’s contribution to the Antarc…

  • Buckle Island

    Buckle Island is one of the three main islands in the uninhabited Balleny Islands group located in the Southern Ocean. It lies 25 km (16 mi) north-west of Sturge Island and 8 km (5 mi) south-east of Young Island, some 110 km (68 mi) north-north-east…

  • Bridgeman Island (South Shetland Islands)

    Bridgeman Island or Bridgemans's Island or Bridgman Island or Helena Island is one of the South Shetland Islands. It is an almost circular, volcanic island marked by steep sides, 0.8 kilometres (0.5 mi) long and 240 m (787 ft) high, lying 37 kilomet…

  • Belgica Mountains

    Belgica Mountains is an isolated chain of mountains about 10 miles (16 km) long, standing 60 miles (97 km) east-southeast of the Sor Rondane Mountains in Queen Maud Land, in the Antarctic. The chain was discovered by the Belgian Antarctic Expedition…

  • Antarctic Sound

    Antarctic Sound is a body of water about 30 miles (50 km) long and from 7 to 12 miles (11 to 19 km) wide, separating the Joinville Island group from the northeast end of the Antarctic Peninsula. The sound was named by the Swedish Antarctic Expeditio…

  • Alatna Valley

    Alatna Valley (sometimes incorrectly spelled Atlanta Valley) is an ice-free valley lying 4 miles (6 km) north of Mount Gran and trending east-northeast for about 10 miles (16 km) along the southeast side of the Convoy Range. It is one of the norther…

  • Admiralty Mountains

    The Admiralty Mountains (alternatively Admiralty Range) is a large group of high mountains and individually named ranges and ridges in northeastern Victoria Land of Antarctica. This mountain group is bounded by the Ross Sea, the Southern Ocean, and …

  • Abbott Island

    Abbott Island (64°6′S62°8′W) is an island lying 2 kilometres (1 mi) west of Davis Island in the south part of Bouquet Bay, off the northeast side of Brabant Island in the Palmer Archipelago.

  • Yankee Harbour

    Yankee Harbour is a small inner harbour entered from Shopski Cove between Glacier Bluff and Spit Point, indenting the south-west side of Greenwich Island in the South Shetland Islands, Antarctica.

  • Wohlthat Mountains

    Wohlthat Mountains (German: Wohlthatmassiv) is a large group of associated mountain features consisting of the Humboldt Mountains, Petermann Ranges, and the Gruber Mountains, located immediately east of the Orvin Mountains in Fimbulheimen in the cen…

  • Victoria Valley

    Victoria Valley is one of the larger McMurdo Dry Valleys. Lake Vida is the largest lake of the valley. The Victoria River drains the Upper Victoria Glacier, with Upper Victoria Lake just below it and 7 kilometres (4.3 mi) northwest of Lake Vida, int…

  • Theron Mountains

    The Theron Mountains (79°05′S028°15′W) are a group of mountains, extending in a NE-SW direction for 45 kilometres (28 mi) and rising 1,175 metres (3,855 ft), on the eastern side of the Filchner Ice Shelf.

  • The Portal

    The Portal (located at (78.0629°S 159.300°E) is the gap between the Lashly Mountains and Portal Mountain, through which the main stream of the Skelton Glacier enters the Skelton Névé from the polar plateau.

  • Sør Rondane Mountains

    The Sør Rondane Mountains are a group of mountains about 100 miles (160 km) long with main peaks rising to 3, 400 m, between the Queen Fabiola Mountains and Wohlthat Mountains in Queen Maud Land. They were discovered and photographed from the air by…

  • Spume Island

    Spume Island is a small, low, rocky island lying 2.4 km (1.5 mi) southwest of Bonaparte Point, off the southwest coast of Anvers Island in the Palmer Archipelago. Spume Island is located at (64°48′S64°07′W).

  • Smyley Island

    Smyley Island is an Antarctic island lying off the Antarctic Peninsula at coordinates (72°55′S78°0′W). The island lies about 20 kilometers (12.4 miles) north of Case Island and the island connects to the Stange Ice Shelf. Smyley island is separated…

  • Seal Islands (South Shetland Islands)

    The Seal Islands (also known as Îles des Phoques, Islas Foca, Islotes Foca and Seal Rocks) are a group of small islands and rocky islets lying about 7 km north and north-west of Elephant Island, in the South Shetland Islands of Antarctica. They exte…

  • Scott Coast

    Scott Coast (76°30′S162°30′E) is that portion of the coast of Victoria Land between Cape Washington and Minna Bluff. Named by New Zealand Antarctic Place-Names Committee (NZ-APC) in 1961 after Captain Robert Falcon Scott, Royal Navy, leader of the …

  • Sabrina Island

    Sabrina Island is the largest of three small islets lying 1.5 km (0.93 mi) south of Buckle Island in the Balleny Islands of Antarctica.

  • Rockefeller Plateau

    The Rockefeller Plateau in Antarctica is that portion of the interior ice plateau of Marie Byrd Land lying eastward of Shirase Coast and Siple Coast and southward of the Ford Ranges, Flood Range and Executive Committee Range, centering near the coor…

  • Richard W. Richards

    Richard Walter Richards, GC often referred to as Dick Richards, born at Bendigo, Victoria in 1893, was an Australian science teacher who joined Sir Ernest Shackleton's Imperial Trans-Antarctic Expedition in December 1914 as a physicist with the Ross…

  • Pryor Glacier

    Pryor Glacier (70°5′S160°10′E) is a glacier flowing northeastward, to the north of Mount Shields and Yermak Point, into Rennick Bay. The feature is about 30 nautical miles (60 km) long and forms a physical separation between Wilson Hills and Usarp …