Articles in Antarctica ( 3,853 )

3,853 Articles of interest in Antarctica

Click on them to get its location and coordinates
  • Booth Island

    Booth Island (or Wandel Island) is a rugged, Y-shaped island, 8 kilometres (5 mi) long and rising to 980 m (3,215 ft) off the northwest coast of Kiev Peninsula in Graham Land, Antarctica in the northeastern part of the Wilhelm Archipelago. Booth Isl…

  • Amundsen Bay

    Amundsen Bay, also known as Ice Bay, is a long embayment 39 kilometres (24 mi) wide, close west of the Tula Mountains in Enderby Land, Antarctica. The bay was seen as a large pack-filled recession in the coastline by Sir Douglas Mawson on January 14…

  • Aitcho Islands (South Shetland Islands)

    The Aitcho Islands (‘Aitcho’ standing for ‘H.O.’ i.e. ‘Hydrographic Office’) are a group of minor islands on the west side of the north entrance to English Strait separating Greenwich Island and Robert Island in the South Shetland Islands, Antarctic…

  • 90 Degrees East

    90 Degrees East, also known as 90°E Lake, is a lake in Antarctica. With a surface area of about 2,000 square kilometres (770 sq mi), it is the second-largest known subglacial lake in Antarctica, after Lake Vostok. 90 Degrees East was discovered in J…

  • Wordie Ice Shelf

    The Wordie Ice Shelf (69°15′S67°45′W) was a confluent glacier projecting as an ice shelf into the SE part of Marguerite Bay between Cape Berteaux and Mount Edgell, along the western coast of Antarctic Peninsula.

  • Winter Island (Antarctica)

    Winter Island is an island 900 m (980 yd) long, lying 200 m (220 yd) north of Skua Island in the Argentine Islands, Wilhelm Archipelago, off the west coast of Graham Land, Antarctica.

  • Wilma Glacier

    Wilma Glacier is the western of two glaciers entering the southern part of Edward VIII Ice Shelf in Kemp Land, Australian Antarctic Territory, East Antarctica.

  • Williams Point

    Williams Point is the point forming both the north extremity of Varna Peninsula and the northeast tip of Livingston Island in the South Shetland Islands, Antarctica.

  • Union Glacier Blue-Ice Runway

    Union Glacier Blue-Ice Runway SCGC (79°46′40″S83°19′15″W) is the blue ice runway for Union Glacier Camp in Antarctica. It is located in the Heritage Range, Ellsworth Mountains, on the glacier that gives it its name.

  • Union Glacier

    Union Glacier (79°45′S082°30′W), is a large, heavily crevassed glacier which receives the flow of several tributaries and drains through the middle of the Heritage Range, Ellsworth Mountains, Antarctica. The glacier drains from the plateau at Edson…

  • Trinity Island

    Trinity Island or Île de la Trinité or Isla Trinidad is an island 24 km (15 mi) long and 10 km (6 mi) wide. It lies 37 km (23 mi) east of Hoseason Island in the northern part of the Palmer Archipelago, Antarctica.

  • Sturge Island

    Sturge Island (67°25′S164°44′E) is one of the three main islands in the uninhabited Balleny Islands group located in the Southern Ocean. It lies 25 kilometres (16 mi) southeast of Buckle Island and 95 kilometres (59 mi) northeast of Belousov Point …

  • Spartacus Peak

    Spartacus Peak (Vrah Spartak \'vr&h spar-'tak\) is an ice-covered 650 m peak in Delchev Ridge, Tangra Mountains, eastern Livingston Island in the South Shetland Islands, Antarctica.

  • Snow Island (South Shetland Islands)

    Snow Island or Isla Nevada is a completely ice-covered island, 16 by 8 kilometres (9.9 by 5.0 mi) in size, lying 6 kilometres (3.7 mi) southwest of Livingston Island in the South Shetland Islands. Surface area 120.4 square kilometres (46.5 sq mi).

  • Shirreff Base

    Shirreff Base is a seasonal field station in the South Atlantic operated by Chile and the United States of America (USA) opened in 1991. Situated on the east side of Cape Shirreff on Ioannes Paulus II Peninsula on Livingston Island in the South Shet…

  • Scotia Bay

    Scotia Bay is a bay 4 km (2.5 mi) wide, lying immediately east of Mossman Peninsula on the south side of Laurie Island, in the South Orkney Islands of Antarctica.

  • Rugged Island (South Shetland Islands)

    Rugged Island (in Spanish Isla Rugosa, variant historical names Lloyds Island or Ragged Island) is an island 3 miles (4.8 km) long and 1 mile (1.6 km) wide, lying west of Livingston Island in the South Shetland Islands. Surface area 10.4 square kilo…

  • Profesor Julio Escudero Base

    Professor Julio Escudero Base is a permanent Chilean Antarctic research base. It is located on King George Island. It lies within the Antártica Chilean commune funded by the Antarctic Institute of the Ministry of Foreign Relations.

  • Prince Harald Coast

    Prince Harald Coast is a portion of the coast of Queen Maud Land, Antarctica, encompassing Lutzow-Holm Bay, lying between Riiser-Larsen Peninsula, at 34° E, and the east entrance point of Lutzow-Holm Bay, marked by the coastal angle at 40° E. It was…

  • Mühlig-Hofmann Mountains

    The Mühlig-Hofmann Mountains (German: Mühlig-Hofmann-Gebirge) is a major group of associated mountain features extending east to west for 65 miles between the Gjelsvik Mountains and the Orvin Mountains in Queen Maud Land, East Antarctica.

  • Mill Island

    Mill Island is an ice-domed island, 25 miles (40 km) long and 16 miles (26 km) wide, lying 25 miles (40 km) north of the Bunger Hills. Mill Island is located at (65°30′S100°40′E).

  • Low Island (South Shetland Islands)

    Low Island or Isla Baja, historical names Jameson Island or Jamesons Island is an island 9 miles (14 km) long and 5 miles (8 km) wide, 14 miles (23 km) southeast of Smith Island, in the South Shetland Islands. The island is located at (63°17′S62°09′…

  • Larsemann Hills

    The Larsemann Hills are a series of low rounded coastal hills along the southeastern shore of Prydz Bay, extending for 9 nautical miles (17 km) from Dålk Glacier.

  • Kristian Prestrud

    Kristian Prestrud (1881 - 11 November 1927) was a Norwegian naval officer and polar explorer who participated in the Amundsen Antarctic Expedition between 1910 and 1912. Prestrud was first officer of the Fram and leader of the Norwegian expedition's…

  • Komsomolskaya (Antarctic research station)

    Komsomolskaya was a Soviet Antarctic inland research station founded in 1957 in Eastern Antarctica at 74°06' S 97°29' E (Queen Mary Land). It was a year-round station till 1959, then used as a seasonal outpost till 1962 when it was shut down permane…

  • Joseph Stenhouse

    Joseph Russell Stenhouse, DSO, OBE, DSC (1887–1941) was a Scottish-born seaman, Royal Navy Officer and Antarctic navigator, who commanded the expedition vessel SY Aurora during her 283-day drift in the ice while on service with the Ross Sea Party co…

  • Joinville Island

    Joinville Island is the largest island of the Joinville Island group, about 40 nmi (74 kilometres) long in an east-west direction and 12 nmi (22 kilometres) wide, lying off the northeastern tip of the Antarctic Peninsula, from which it is separated …

  • Hut Point Peninsula

    Hut Point Peninsula is a long, narrow peninsula from 3 to 5 km (2 to 3 mi) wide and 24 km (15 mi) long, projecting south-west from the slopes of Mount Erebus on Ross Island, Antarctica.

  • Hugh Robert Mill

    Hugh Robert Mill (28 May 1861 – 5 April 1950) was a Scottish geographer and meteorologist who was influential in the reform of geography teaching, and in the development of meteorology as a science.

  • Galindez Island

    Galindez Island is an island 0.8 kilometres (0.5 mi) long, lying immediately east of Winter Island in the Argentine Islands, Wilhelm Archipelago.