Articles in South Africa ( 1,729 )

1,729 Articles of interest in South Africa

Click on them to get its location and coordinates
  • Bantry Bay, Cape Town

    Bantry Bay is an affluent suburb of Cape Town situated on the slopes of Lion's Head and overlooking a rocky coastline, Western Cape Province, South Africa. Its neighboring suburbs are Sea Point and Clifton. It was originally called Botany Bay after …

  • African Institute for Mathematical Sciences

    The African Institute for Mathematical Sciences (AIMS) is a tertiary education and research institute in Muizenberg, South Africa, established in September 2003. AIMS was formed as a partnership between the following universities: University of Stel…

  • UThungulu District Municipality

    Uthungulu is one of the 11 district municipalities ("districts") of KwaZulu-Natal province in South Africa. The seat of uThungulu is Richards Bay. The majority of its 885 944 people speak Zulu (2001 Census).

  • Transvaal Museum

    The Ditsong National Museum of Natural History, formerly the Transvaal Museum, is a natural history museum situated in Pretoria, South Africa. The museum curates large collections of Plio-Pleistocene fossils, including hominids from Sterkfontein, Sw…

  • Thabazimbi

    Thabazimbi is an iron mining town in the Limpopo province of South Africa. The town is situated at the feet of the Ysterberg and is surrounded by the Witfonteinrand and Boshofberg with the majestic Kransberg in the background. The name Thabazimbi me…

  • Sabie

    Sabie is a forestry town situated on the banks of the Sabie River in Mpumalanga, South Africa. The name Sabie is derived from the Tsonga Shangaan word "Ulusaba" which means fearful. The Shangaan called this river Ulusaba because the river was once t…

  • Phakisa Freeway

    Phakisa Freeway is a motor racing circuit located in Welkom, South Africa. From 1999 to 2004, the venue hosted the South African motorcycle Grand Prix of the MotoGP championship.

  • Outeniqua Mountains

    The Outeniqua Mountains form a mountain range located along the Garden Route of South Africa. They run parallel to the coast and form a continuous range with the Langeberg to the west and the Tsitsikamma Mountains to the east.

  • Mmabatho

    Mmabatho (Setswana for "Mother of the People") is the former capital of the North-West Province of South Africa. In the apartheid era, it was the capital of the former "Bantustan" of Bophuthatswana. Following the end of apartheid in 1994, Bophuthats…

  • List of lakes of South Africa

    This is a list of lakes of South Africa. It includes lakes that were formed naturally, and a few wetlands. For artificial lakes such as reservoirs, refer to List of dams and reservoirs in South Africa.

  • Heidelberg, Western Cape

    Heidelberg is a town in the Western Cape, South Africa. It is located near South Africa's south coast, on the N2 highway, 274 km east of Cape Town (about half way between Cape Town and Knysna). Heidelberg is just east of the Overberg region, and som…

  • Graskop

    Graskop is a small town in Mpumalanga province, South Africa. It was set up in the 1880s as a gold mining camp but it now serves as a tourist destination and the timber industry. The name is Afrikaans for grassy peak.

  • Capricorn District Municipality

    Capricorn is one of the 6 districts of Limpopo province of South Africa. The district is named after the Tropic of Capricorn which runs through it. The seat of Capricorn is Polokwane. The majority of its 1 154 673 people speak Northern Sotho (2001 c…

  • Breede River

    The Breede River (Afrikaans: Breederivier), also known as Breë River, is a river in the Western Cape Province of South Africa. Travelling inland north from Cape Town, the river runs in a west to east direction. The surrounding western mountains form…

  • Battle of Ladysmith

    The Battle of Ladysmith was one of the early engagements of the Second Boer War. A large British force which had concentrated at the garrison town of Ladysmith launched a sortie on 30 October 1899, against Boer armies which were slowly surrounding t…

  • Yzerfontein

    Yzerfontein is a small harbour town with about 1200 inhabitants on the west coast of South Africa about 90 km north of Cape Town. The name in Dutch or Afrikaans means "Iron Fountain".

  • Tygerberg

    Tygerberg is a district in the northern suburbs of Cape Town in South Africa. It is also the name of the range of hills in the area. Tygerberg is host to the Tygerberg Hospital. The hospital is the centre for the Medicine and Health Sciences faculty…

  • Scottburgh

    Scottburgh (pronounced scott-burra) is a resort town situated on the mouth of the Mpambanyoni River (confuser of birds), 58 km south of Durban on KwaZulu-Natal South Coast in South Africa.