Articles in Namibia ( 225 )

225 Articles of interest in Namibia

Click on them to get its location and coordinates
  • Swakop River

    The Swakop River (Khoekhoe: Tsoaxaub) is a major river in the western part of Namibia, reaching the sea at the southern edge of the city of Swakopmund (German for Mouth of the Swakop).

  • Supreme Court of Namibia

    The Supreme Court of Namibia is the supreme court in all legal matters of the laws of Namibia. It is the court of last resort and the highest appellate court in the country. It is located in the centre of Namibia's capital city, Windhoek.

  • Oshikango

    Oshikango is a village in northern Namibia and a border post with Angola. Since 2004 it has been part of the town of Helao Nafidi but still maintains its own village council. It is the district capital of the Oshikango Constituency.

  • Karasburg

    Karasburg is a town of 4,000 inhabitants in the ǁKaras Region of southern Namibia and the district capital of the Karasburg electoral constituency.

  • Henties Bay

    Henties Bay (English, literally: Henty's Bay. Afrikaans: Hentiesbaai, German: Hentiesbucht) is a coastal city in the Erongo Region of western Namibia. It is located 70 km north of Swakopmund and is an important holiday settlement. 70 kilometres to t…

  • Gibeon, Namibia

    Gibeon (Nama: Khaxa-tsûs) is a village in Gibeon Constituency in the Hardap Region region of Namibia. In the 2009 presidential election, 3669 people voted in the Gibeon constituency.

  • Ruacana Falls

    Ruacana Falls are waterfalls located near Ruacana on the Kunene River in Northern Namibia. The waterfall is 120 meters (390 ft) high and 700 meters (2,300 ft) wide in full flood.

  • Otavi

    Otavi is a town of 4,000 inhabitants in the Otjozondjupa Region of central Namibia. It is the district capital of the Otavi electoral constituency. Most of the area is dolomitic (Precambrian) and the district was in the past renowned for its mineral…

  • Omaruru, Namibia

    Omaruru is a city and constituency in the Erongo Region of Namibia. The town has 14,000 inhabitants and owns 352 square kilometres (136 sq mi) of land. The town is situated near the Erongo Mountains, on the usually dry Omaruru River. It is located o…

  • Nkurenkuru

    Nkurenkuru (1.093 m above sea level) is a town on the south-western banks of the Kavango River in the Kavango West Region, Namibia, 140 km west of Rundu. Nkurenkuru has a population of around 7.650 inhabitants and is homestead of the local Uukwangal…

  • Khorixas

    Khorixas is a town of 6,000 inhabitants in southern Kunene Region, Namibia. It was previously the capital of the Damaraland bantustan prior to Namibia's independence. It is located in Khorixas Constituency. Most of the inhabitants are from the Damar…

  • Calueque

    Calueque is a village next to a dam and pumping station of the same name on the Kunene River in the Kunene Province of southern Angola. The water project is linked to Ruacana, 20 km (12 mi) away in Namibia, where the Ruacana Power Station is. This d…

  • Von Bach Dam

    The Von Bach Dam (originally the Sartorius von Bach Dam) is a rock-fill embankment dam on the Swakop River near Okahandja in the Otjozondjupa Region of Namibia. Built in 1968 and commissioned in 1970, the dam provides Namibia's capital of Windhoek w…

  • Usakos

    Usakos (Damara: grab the heel, Otjiherero name: Okanduu) is a city on the banks of river Khan, 140 kilometres north-east of Swakopmund in the Erongo Region of Namibia. It is located on the B2 (Trans-Kalahari Highway), the main road between the Walvi…

  • Tsumkwe

    Tsumkwe (Juǀ'Hoan: Tjumǃkui) is a settlement in the Otjozondjupa Region of Namibia and the district capital of the Tsumkwe electoral constituency.

  • Solitaire, Namibia

    Solitaire is a small settlement in the Khomas Region of central Namibia near the Namib-Naukluft National Park. It currently features the only gasoline station, post office, bakery, and the only general dealer between the dunes at Sossusvlei and the …

  • Kuiseb River

    The Kuiseb River in Namibia flows from the Khomas highlands west of Windhoek to Walvis Bay. The Kuiseb is an ephemeral river with a mean run-off of roughly 20 million cubic metres per annum.

  • Kombat

    Kombat (the place of the giraffe) is a mining settlement at the southern margin of the Otavi Mountain Range in northern Namibia.

  • Ugab River

    The Ugab River is an ephemeral river that only flows above the surface of its sandy bed a few days each year, but even during much of the dry season its subterranean water surfaces as pools in places, and provides an important resource for species i…

  • Samora Machel Constituency

    Samora Machel Constituency (formerly known as Wanaheda) is a constituency in the Khomas Region of Namibia. The constituency is located across four northern suburbs of Windhoek: Wanaheda, Greenwell Matongo, Goreangab, and part of Havana.

  • Outjo

    Outjo (Otjiherero: small hills) is a city of 6,000 inhabitants in the Kunene Region of Namibia. It is the district capital of Outjo Constituency.

  • Mukurob

    The Mukurob (Finger of God), near Asab in Namibia, was a sandstone rock formation in the Namib desert which collapsed on 7 December 1988.