Articles in Namibia ( 225 )

225 Articles of interest in Namibia

Click on them to get its location and coordinates
  • Battle of Waterberg

    The Battle of Waterberg took place on August 11, 1904 at the Waterberg, German South-West Africa (modern day Namibia), and was the decisive battle in the German campaign against the Herero.

  • Cunene River

    The Cunene River (Portuguese spelling) or Kunene River (Namibian spelling) is a river in Southern Africa. It flows from the Angola highlands south to the border with Namibia. It then flows west along the border until it reaches the Atlantic Ocean. I…

  • Tintenpalast

    The Tintenpalast (German for "Ink Palace") is the seat of both chambers of the Namibian legislature, the National Council and the National Assembly.

  • Sesriem

    Sesriem is a small settlement located in the Namib Desert, in Namibia, close to the southern end of the Naukluft Mountains. It is especially known because the "Sesriem gate" is the main access point to the Namib-Naukluft National Park for visitors e…

  • Otjozondjupa Region

    Otjozondjupa region is one of the fourteen regions of Namibia, its capital is Otjiwarongo. An outstanding landmark within this region is the Waterberg Plateau Park.

  • Alexander Bay, Northern Cape

    Alexander Bay (Afrikaans: Alexanderbaai) is a town in the extreme north-west of South Africa, also known as the region of Little Namaqualand. It is located on the southern bank of the Orange River mouth.

  • Oshana Region

    Oshana is one of the fourteen regions of Namibia, its capital is Oshakati. The name Oshana describes the most prominent landscape feature in the area, namely the shallow, seasonally inundated depressions which underpin the local agro ecological syst…

  • Okahandja

    Okahandja is a city of 24,100 inhabitants in Otjozondjupa Region, central Namibia, and the district capital of the Okahandja electoral constituency. It is known as the Garden Town of Namibia. It is located 70 km north of Windhoek on the B1 road.

  • Kavango Region

    Kavango (before 1998: Okavango) was one of the thirteen Regions of Namibia until it was split into the Kavango East and Kavango West Regions in 2013. Its capital was Rundu.

  • The White Lady

    The White Lady is a rock painting, located on a panel, also depicting other art work, on a small rock overhang, deep within Brandberg Mountain. The giant granite monolith located in Damaraland and called 'The Brandberg' is Namibia's highest mountain.

  • Ondangwa

    Ondangwa (earlier spelling Ondangua), is a town of 23,000 inhabitants in the Oshana Region of northern Namibia, bordering Oshikoto Region.

  • Eros Airport

    Eros Airport or Windhoek Eros Airport (IATA: ERS, ICAO: FYWE) is an airport serving Windhoek, the capital and largest city of the Republic of Namibia.

  • Mariental, Namibia

    Mariental is a city of 10,000 inhabitants in south-central Namibia, lying on the B1 national road 145 miles (232 km) north of Keetmanshoop and 170 miles (274 km) southeast of Windhoek. It lies at an elevation of 3,576 feet (1,090 metres). Mariental …

  • Katutura

    Katutura (Otjiherero: The place where people do not want to live) is a township of Windhoek, Khomas Region, Namibia. Katutura was created in 1961 following the forced removal of Windhoek's black population from the Old Location, which afterwards was…

  • Epupa Falls

    The Epupa Falls (also known as Monte Negro Falls in Angola) are created by the Kunene River on the border of Angola and Namibia, in the Kaokoland area of the Kunene Region. The river is 0.5 km wide and drops in a series of waterfalls spread over 1.5…

  • South African Weather Service

    The South African Weather Service (SAWS) is the meteorological service under the South African government's Department of Environmental Affairs and Tourism. SAWS is a member of the World Meteorological Organization.

  • Langstrand

    Langstrand (Afrikaans and German for "Long Beach", which the town is often called, too, among English-speaking tourists) is a small beach resort on the Atlantic coast in western Namibia. Langstrand and its neighboring sister resort Dolfynstrand lies…

  • State House of Namibia

    The State House of the Republic of Namibia is the administrative capital of Namibia, as well the official residence of the President of Namibia. Located in the Auasblick suburb of Windhoek, the State House was constructed by Mansudae Overseas Projec…

  • Mongu

    Mongu is the capital of Western Province in Zambia and was the capital of the formerly-named province and historic state, Barotseland.

  • Otjikoto Lake

    Otjikoto Lake is the smaller of only two permanent natural lakes in Namibia. It is a sinkhole lake, that was created by a collapsing karst cave. It is located 20 kilometres (12 mi) from Tsumeb and only a few meters from the main road B1. The diamete…

  • Quiver Tree Forest

    The Quiver Tree Forest (Kokerboom Woud in Afrikaans) is a forest and a well-known tourist attraction of southern Namibia. It is located about 14 km north of Keetmanshoop, on the road to Koës, in the Gariganus farm. It comprises about 250 specimens o…

  • Ongwediva

    Ongwediva is a town in the Oshana Region in the north of Namibia. It is the district capital of the Ongwediva electoral constituency. As of 2010 it had 27,000 inhabitants and covered 4,102 hectares of land. Ongwediva has seven churches, two private …

  • Deutsche Höhere Privatschule Windhoek

    The Deutsche Höhere Privatschule, or DHPS as it is commonly known, is a private school in Namibia. Situated in the capital Windhoek, it is the oldest private high school in the country. It is also one of the biggest German international schools in A…

  • Aus, Namibia

    Aus is a village in ǁKaras Region in southern Namibia. It lies on a railway line and the B4 national road, 230 km west of Keetmanshoop and about 125 km east of Lüderitz. Trains from Keetmanshoop now terminate at the village but formerly continued on…